Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Can the Ozonator go before the inline Chlornator?

1. Back To Top    #1

Can the Ozonator go before the inline Chlornator?

Hello, I'm new to this pool stuff, and am just trying to figure out my setup, my question is that does the ozonator have to be before or after the inline chlorinator? my setup would be alot simpler if the ozonator could go before the chlorinator. I have attached a qick sketch of my proposed setup. I'm thinking of using a Rainbow 320C chlorinator with my Del Clear Ozone system, any sugestions?
    Thanks, Beep.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    24' round x 54" Tahitian (Sharkline), 1.5HP Sta-rite Pump, 22" 250lb. sand filter with Zeo-best media, Hayward H250FDN heater, Del Clear Ozonator, SWG or Rola-Chem feeder, not sure?, Trident Automatic Pool Cleaner, 100Watt Nightlighter, Underwater light show and fountain, 2" Hard Plumbed.
    Wishin Isa Swimmin!

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Can the Ozonator go before the inline Chlornator?

Yes it can if it is a SWG cell it may even be beneficial. For a rainbow unit I am not familiar enough with the materials used in these units to tell you if it is ok.

I would do it anyway. Rainbow parts are cheap enough. Think your money would be better spent buying only a SWG rather than the rainbow or the ozone (and I have both). After replacing my rainbow with a SWG, my rainbow went straight to the trash can.
    IG 24k plaster with overflow spa. Goldline PS-8 SWG. Tristar 0.75 HP filter pump, Polaris 280, large cartridge filter, 400k BTU NG Max-E-Therm HD, SR Smith Turbo Twister, Life Saver pool fence, ORP managed.

3. Back To Top    #3