Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Undersized filter?

1. Back To Top    #1

Undersized filter?

Our pool was installed last fall and was then immediately closed/winterized for the season. So although I have no actual experience operating my system from which to draw conclusions, I sense my filter might be undersized. I realize cleaning frequency is dependant on many variables, but all things being equal, should I expect to be servicing this thing on a weekly basis?

Note: See signature for pool specs
    Completed: June 2011
    18' X 38' IG Vinyl, 3' - 8' depth ~ 24K gallons
    2 skimmers, 2 wall suctions, 3 returns, 1.5" piping

Hayward Equipment: 1HP Tri-star 2-speed, Aqua-Plus SWG,
    Star-Clear Plus 175 sqft cartridge filter, Colorlogic 4.0 LED

The Pool Cleaner 4X(suction)
    2011 Jacuzzi J-280 Hot tub

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Undersized filter?

I would have specified a larger one but what you have is fine.

Your pool volume, unless you are 10' deep or more, is several thousand gallons high.

Scott
    Owner of - PoolGuyNJ LLC
    Expert Pool and Spa Repairs, Renovations, and Augmentation. Helping people decide what is the right gear for meeting their needs. Expectations Set, Expectations Met, No Surprises.

3. Back To Top    #3

Did you opt for the cartridge filter instead of a sand or is that just what was speced out?
    14,000 gallon IG, Vinyl. Hayward 3/4 hp superpump, Penatair IC40 SWCG, Pentair automation, Hayward sand filter, Aqua Comfort heat pump, Hayward 400k Lo-Nox LP heater.

4. Back To Top    #4

Scott - I have a rectangular, right-angle pool that has a 3.5' low-end that transitions to an 8' deep-end. I estimated my gallonage from specs of similar pools I saw on the web. Where would you put my number at?

BK - That filter was what Paul listed in our contract.

5. Back To Top    #5