Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Electrical Problem at Pool Equip pad

1. Back To Top    #1

Electrical Problem at Pool Equip pad

This past summer, I replaced the plug on my pool cover pump and it had been working just fine until recently. I noticed the GFI was tripped, but whenever I attempted to plug the pool cover pump back into the outlet, it would trip again. I opened the plug and everything inside was still attached, so don't know what my problem may be. I am NOT an electrician, just a retired Grammy living by herself and willing to take on most problems. Any suggestions?
    18,000 gal, 18x32 IGP, vinyl liner, 3 to 5.5ft depth. One inlet/skimmer (Aqua Genie), one main drain. Hayward Pro Series Sand Filter w/filtration rate of 20 GPM/FT, Two-Speed Pentair Whisperflo 1 HP pump, Natural Gas Hayward H200 pool heater, Aquabot T2 (200 Series) Robotic Pool Cleaner (my best friend), Automatic Electric Pool Cover (2nd best friend).

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Electrical Problem at Pool Equip pad

Can you plug another appliance or light into the outlet without it tripping? If yes, then the pump or float siwtch is bad and a replacement is needed.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

3. Back To Top    #3

Can you plug anything else into the GFI outlet to test it? You need to figure out if the plug on the pump is faulty, or if the outlet itself is bad. You should be able to plug something else into the GFI outlet. If it works, the issue is most likely with the pump plug.

EDIT: Bama types faster than me
    14,000 gallon IG, Vinyl. Hayward 3/4 hp superpump, Penatair IC40 SWCG, Pentair automation, Hayward sand filter, Aqua Comfort heat pump, Hayward 400k Lo-Nox LP heater.

4. Back To Top    #4