Become a TFP Supporter Welcome to our new server and new forum software. If you have problems logging in to the new system, you should try resetting your password. Click HERE to do that. Pool School
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: How do I connect the Autopilot to the Intellitouch

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    52

    How do I connect the Autopilot to the Intellitouch

    Sean or anyone who knows

    I have the 4 cables running from the autopilot but do not know where to connect them on the Intellitouch (10i). When I connect to the Std Com port it freezes the intellitouch.
    Sean

    15 x 30 gunite pool with Riverflow Professional 12miles per hour flow (10HP silent ABB pump) to make the entire pool flow - Pentair Intellitouch i10 - Heat pump AquaComfort 110 - Raypak 399k Digital Gas Heater - Pool Pilot Digital SC-48 - Pentair FNS Plus 60 - Polaris 3900 Sport Cleaner on booster pump
    2 x Pentair Intelliflo pumps - one for filter (VF) and second for Venturi Pool Jets (VS) and Jandy 6 set deckjets - Pentair PG2000 Fiberoptic lighting - Automatic PoolCover (Brown) by Pool Cover Specialists

    Winter Pool Bubble by Ameri-Dome

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,422
    Are you connecting it so that you can control the output and read the salt from your indoor panel? I don't usually recommend this installation as it tends to control your chlorine levels better when it's not connected to be controlled by the Intellitouch. You will loose the Automatic Temperature Compensation and the Salt Amount Feature. In addition, when there are sevice lights, the AP will not show the display as to why it's flashing. You can, however, DISABLE REMOTE, to monitor and diagnose the AP directly on the Digital unit.

    However, to connect the two, you need to connect the following:
    AP Red to Pentair Red
    AP Black to Pentair Yellow
    AP Yellow to Pentair Green
    AP Green to Pentair Black.

    This should take care of it.
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    Commercial Products Sales Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    52

    Diable remote

    Sean thanks and that is good advice.

    I have installed the unit and (with the Intellitouch disconnected) the unit is flashing Purify off - check.........and I cannot scroll the screen to see what to check?

    Also the 3 prong connector (I have the sc48) only needs 2 prongs to be connected to the cell unti - which 2 should I connect?

    Thanks

    Sean
    Sean

    15 x 30 gunite pool with Riverflow Professional 12miles per hour flow (10HP silent ABB pump) to make the entire pool flow - Pentair Intellitouch i10 - Heat pump AquaComfort 110 - Raypak 399k Digital Gas Heater - Pool Pilot Digital SC-48 - Pentair FNS Plus 60 - Polaris 3900 Sport Cleaner on booster pump
    2 x Pentair Intelliflo pumps - one for filter (VF) and second for Venturi Pool Jets (VS) and Jandy 6 set deckjets - Pentair PG2000 Fiberoptic lighting - Automatic PoolCover (Brown) by Pool Cover Specialists

    Winter Pool Bubble by Ameri-Dome

  4. #4
    Administrator JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    31,182
    That error message sounds like "Error! Purifier off Check Flow", which usually means the trisensor is not seeing sufficent water flow through the manifold or the trisensor cable is not connected properly.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    TFP Admin. Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    52

    What data is transferred to the Intellitouch?

    Thanks - Unit is working now

    Poolsean - The only data that seems to be available on the intellitouch screen in the salt ppm. Is that correct? Further, it is reading 0ppm whereas the actual unit says 2500.

    Thanks

    Sean
    Sean

    15 x 30 gunite pool with Riverflow Professional 12miles per hour flow (10HP silent ABB pump) to make the entire pool flow - Pentair Intellitouch i10 - Heat pump AquaComfort 110 - Raypak 399k Digital Gas Heater - Pool Pilot Digital SC-48 - Pentair FNS Plus 60 - Polaris 3900 Sport Cleaner on booster pump
    2 x Pentair Intelliflo pumps - one for filter (VF) and second for Venturi Pool Jets (VS) and Jandy 6 set deckjets - Pentair PG2000 Fiberoptic lighting - Automatic PoolCover (Brown) by Pool Cover Specialists

    Winter Pool Bubble by Ameri-Dome

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,422
    Sean,
    Depending on your model, there may be an option for you to SELECT REMOTE. This should be set on "2" (factory setting is "1").
    The 1 is for a Jandy control system. 2 is for Pentaire and Polaris.

    The Intellitouch should allow you to control the Purifier %, Boost cycles, salt, and when there is a warning condition.

    Let me know if that does it.

    I realized I did not answer your question regarding the 3 holes on the cell cord, and the 2 prongs on your SC-48 cell, which I'm sure by now you've come to figure it out. It doesn't matter which two holes you use. The center hole will be connected/uesd in either case, and the two outer holes are spliced together back at the power supply anyway.
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    Commercial Products Sales Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    52
    Sean - thanks - I have set it to Remote 2 - The intellitouch says no errors in the chlorinator screen yet it does not report the ppm - says it is 0 and the autopilot says it is 3200ppm.

    Thanks
    Sean
    Sean

    15 x 30 gunite pool with Riverflow Professional 12miles per hour flow (10HP silent ABB pump) to make the entire pool flow - Pentair Intellitouch i10 - Heat pump AquaComfort 110 - Raypak 399k Digital Gas Heater - Pool Pilot Digital SC-48 - Pentair FNS Plus 60 - Polaris 3900 Sport Cleaner on booster pump
    2 x Pentair Intelliflo pumps - one for filter (VF) and second for Venturi Pool Jets (VS) and Jandy 6 set deckjets - Pentair PG2000 Fiberoptic lighting - Automatic PoolCover (Brown) by Pool Cover Specialists

    Winter Pool Bubble by Ameri-Dome

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,422
    Sorry fot the delay in response. I will check into that. Actually, my recommendation would be to not interface the two because you lose the Automatic Temperature Compensation feature and the Salt Amount display.
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    Commercial Products Sales Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,422
    Sean,

    Can you please find the Software version for the Intellitouch and the Pool Pilot, and get it back to me?

    Thanks,
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    Commercial Products Sales Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    52
    4.2 on the Pool Pilot and 1.09 for intellitouch
    Sean

    15 x 30 gunite pool with Riverflow Professional 12miles per hour flow (10HP silent ABB pump) to make the entire pool flow - Pentair Intellitouch i10 - Heat pump AquaComfort 110 - Raypak 399k Digital Gas Heater - Pool Pilot Digital SC-48 - Pentair FNS Plus 60 - Polaris 3900 Sport Cleaner on booster pump
    2 x Pentair Intelliflo pumps - one for filter (VF) and second for Venturi Pool Jets (VS) and Jandy 6 set deckjets - Pentair PG2000 Fiberoptic lighting - Automatic PoolCover (Brown) by Pool Cover Specialists

    Winter Pool Bubble by Ameri-Dome

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,422
    I'll let you know when I hear back from the Pentair tech rep that handles the electronic control systems.
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    Commercial Products Sales Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    Sean

    15 x 30 gunite pool with Riverflow Professional 12miles per hour flow (10HP silent ABB pump) to make the entire pool flow - Pentair Intellitouch i10 - Heat pump AquaComfort 110 - Raypak 399k Digital Gas Heater - Pool Pilot Digital SC-48 - Pentair FNS Plus 60 - Polaris 3900 Sport Cleaner on booster pump
    2 x Pentair Intelliflo pumps - one for filter (VF) and second for Venturi Pool Jets (VS) and Jandy 6 set deckjets - Pentair PG2000 Fiberoptic lighting - Automatic PoolCover (Brown) by Pool Cover Specialists

    Winter Pool Bubble by Ameri-Dome

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,422
    Well Sean,
    I'm going back to my inital response of running the Pool Pilot as a separate component and not interfaced to the Intellitouch!
    After describing the problem with the Pentair tech guy, I got "We only support the intellichlor". When I asked if there was a software change because we use to communicate fine, he said there were none the he knew of....so again I said everything esle seems to be ok except the salt display is showing 0 ppm. "We only support the intellichlor".
    I can check with my engineering dept to see if there's a solution, but at this point, again, disconnected the interface wires and run the Pool Pilot separately. It sholdn't take you but a week or two to get the correct setting on the Pool Pilot to maintain your pool.
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    Commercial Products Sales Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    52
    Thanks - I have currently disconnected it and am trying to get the settings correct.

    Sean
    Sean

    15 x 30 gunite pool with Riverflow Professional 12miles per hour flow (10HP silent ABB pump) to make the entire pool flow - Pentair Intellitouch i10 - Heat pump AquaComfort 110 - Raypak 399k Digital Gas Heater - Pool Pilot Digital SC-48 - Pentair FNS Plus 60 - Polaris 3900 Sport Cleaner on booster pump
    2 x Pentair Intelliflo pumps - one for filter (VF) and second for Venturi Pool Jets (VS) and Jandy 6 set deckjets - Pentair PG2000 Fiberoptic lighting - Automatic PoolCover (Brown) by Pool Cover Specialists

    Winter Pool Bubble by Ameri-Dome

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •