Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Am I doing it right?

1. Back To Top    #1

Am I doing it right?

Aloha, I have been using my converted 20' container year round for almost 2 years and wondering if I am doing enough to keep the water clean? (runs 80-83 degrees year round). Basically I put in about a quart of bleach from Costco a day and once a week I check and tune the PH and Chlorine levels with a K-mart tester. Water is usually very clear and If I notice a little algae growing on the sides, I may add 2 quarts for that day and all is well.

My question is: should I leave well enough alone? Or should I be doing more sophisticated tests because I may be missing something. (about a year ago I sent a sample to a pool supply and he said all is fine and the only thing he could sell me was some water chrystal - clear blue stuff.

7800 Gal. 8' wide x 20' long x 7' deep
    Hayward 1200 Cartridge 7200 GPH, Waterworks 1/8 hp 2400 GPH
    Made from 20 Container Lined with "PolyUrea/Rhino Lining"
    Workshop, welding etc,+office+living area running off grid on 10kw PV

2. Back To Top    #2
    Fleming Island, FL

Re: Am I doing it right?

Francis, it is very difficult to tell if you are properly taking care of your pool without seeing test results from your water testing. Please post a list of your current water test results so we can determine if what you are doing is well enough. Is this an indoor or outdoor pool? I wish my pool was 80-83 degrees year round, you are lucky.
    Pool: 28,000 gallons IG; IC 40 SWG; Pentair 120 gpm cartridge filter; Marble finish; Pentair Wisperflow 1.5 hp; Polaris 360
    Spa: 350 gallon; Bromine
    How to shock your pool

3. Back To Top    #3
    SouthWest Alabama

Re: Am I doing it right?