Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: To close or not to close

1. Back To Top    #1

To close or not to close

Hi all,

I live in Southern California and I have posted here once before. One person told me that I don't "need" to worry about closing since our temps don't get down too low. My hubby, who has left the pool maintenance to me, wants me to stop filling the pool (I have a lot of evaporation) and close the pool to save money.

I have read the site about the work involved in closing the pool, as well we only have a solar cover and not a winter cover or anything, and frankly, I'm wondering if it's worth it.

His two main concerns are that I have to run the pump/sweeper every day (electricity costs!) and fill the pool (not quite daily but every week at least) since it seems (and I'm still learning here) that the water has to be a certain level for the pump to work correctly (no jokes please. lol). So, to him, I'm wasting water and electricity when we aren't even using it. (We bought the house with the pool, he did not particularly want a pool in the first place.)

Can you give me some good reasons to tell him why I *shouldn't* close the pool? Is it mostly that I am shying away from the work that I will have to learn (there's a lot to be done) or is it actually cost effective not to close it? Can anyone give me benefits/ negatives to closing it so that I might bring those arguments back to him? Certainly my head would tell me to close it since we will not use it (no heater in pool).

Any help or comments or advice would be greatly appreciated. I'm a newb and certainly new to having a pool in CA. In Washington we had to close ours every year so that was my experience too.

Thanks
    Anne
    Temecula, CA
    16X32 (approx) 20k gal, DE filter, IG, plaster/pebble with diving board & slide
    Whisperflo pump; Pentair SMBW 4000 Series filter... that's all I know! Still learning....

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: To close or not to close