Very little water in pump

Bart

LifeTime Supporter
Jan 24, 2010
Northern Virginia
I'm new to the pool world. My pool was just finished and filled Oct 6th. Since then, I noticed air in the little chamber (with a filter basket) before the pump. It was half air and half water. I mentioned to the pool guy when he was measuring for the cover and he took off the cap, cleaned off the gasket and put it back together. We turned the pump back on and it completely filled up with water and looked great. I checked it about an hour later, just before he left, and it was back to the original, half-full/half-empty state. This time he took it apart and applied some teflon sealant around the gasket and when we started it up it looked good again.

Well, I looked at it the other day (Thursday) and it was back to the half-full/half-empty state that I started with, so I called the pool company to get someone out here to fix it. At this point everything was working fine - the skimmers, the Polaris, and the pressure on the filter was right in the middle.

When I checked it today (Saturday), the pump was making a funny noise and the little chamber was at least 3/4 empty. The pump was warm, and the pressure on the filter was zero. The skimmers were not working and the Polaris was not working. I turned everything off and took the top off the little chamber before the pump and steam came out! The little bit of water in the bottom of the chamber was HOT! (From the pump, not from a pool heater).

I called the pool company again to get someone out here immediately and the guy on the phone told me the impeller was probably full of crud and it wasn't allowing the pump to work properly. I made it very clear that two days ago everything was working normally and the pressure wasn't high or low. I also told the story about the half-full chamber that's never worked properly. But he stuck with the clogged up impeller theory.

What does anyone think about this?

Thanks,
Bart