Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: SWG reading 3750ppm, but chlorine level was low

1. Back To Top    #1

SWG reading 3750ppm, but chlorine level was low

I'm new to owning a pool and am concerned about the salt reading. It just shot up this past weekend from around 3300 ppm to 3600, then 3650ppm, then last night it was reading 3750ppm. No salt has been added since they hooked the equipment up a couple of weeks ago. The chlorine level dropped a bit this past weekend, so I uped the SWG to 25%, then a day later to 35%. The chlorine level is now good, but the salt level is way high. What should I do? The water temp this morning was 64*. I'm using a test kit the installer gave me that only tests chlorine and pH. I will be ordering a Taylor k2006 very soon or at least for next season. The only reason the pool is still opened is so we can look at it. Too cold to swim.

Thanks for any help!
    Shores

17,000 Gallon Vinyl-lined In-ground Sports Pool
    Triton II Sand Filter; WhisperFlo Pump
    Pentair Intellichlor Electronic Chlorine Generator Model IC40
    Ray-Pak Gas-Fired 250,000 BTU Pool Heater
    Polaris 380 Automatic Pool Cleaner with Booster Pump
    EasyTouch Control Panel
    Save-T 3 Automatic Pool Cover
    3 Skimmers, 3 Inlets, No Main Drains

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: SWG reading 3750ppm, but chlorine level was low

I think the colder the water is, the more concentrated the salt content is. Possibly it will go down if the water gets warmer?
    1971 San Juan Fiberglass pool 12,000 gallons
    New Pentair Whisperflow 1hp
    New Pentair FNS DE filter 64sq
    All 1.5" piping and no heater
    1 skimmer, 1 main drain, and 2 returns

3. Back To Top    #3

Thanks vln.

Would the water being about a 1/4" low play a role in any way? I'm adding water to the pool now and am thinking this might help. One of the dogs has been swimming several times and brings some water out each time she jumps in and then gets out.