Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Noob question when it comes to pool sweeps

1. Back To Top    #1

Noob question when it comes to pool sweeps

Hello all, I just came across this forum board... looks like a lot of great information.

Ok here is my situation... I grew up with a pool and one of my chores was to maintain the pool, so I am not an expert, but I do know my way around them.

I have a huge Redwood tree in my backyard that is consistiantly dropping debris in the pool. I spend a HUGE amount of time vacuming the pool and it is taking away from "play time" with my kids . I am at a point where I want to get a pool sweep.

Now I have been reading doing some reading. Being that I have a fiberglass pool I was thinking that I would need a Pressure Vacume Cleaner but on the other hand I do not have a booster pump installed on the pool?

So I am kind of stuck... I am looking for a set up that would not break the bank but would be very functional... Are there any suggestions
    IG
    Fiberglass
    35,000 Gal
    Cartridge
    Flow rate on filter coming soon

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Noob question when it comes to pool sweeps

Welcome to TFP

I'm not an expert on IG pool cleaning units, but have you considered a stand alone unit (robot) such as those offered by aquabot? I would think a good quality unit would run around $500 and can run independently of your pool filter system.

I use a pool rover jr on our agp and love not having to vaccum
    24'x52" AGP (13,500 Gallons), Intex SWG, (2)Solar Bear 4x20 panels, Hayward S220T Filter, 1/2hp Pentair Superflo

Pool School, TFTestKits, Pool Calculator

3. Back To Top    #3

The Pool Cleaner gets good reviews from users here, and it doesn't require a booster pump.

BTW, these guys are members here, and they sell them...
    20K gal IG plaster pool, Manually chlorinated with 6% bleach, 1.5 HP Sta-Rite Dura-Glas II pump, Pentair FNS Plus 48 DE filter, Polaris 280

4. Back To Top    #4