Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Do I need new sand?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    44

    Do I need new sand?

    My pool is turning dirty and in a quick fashion. Not allege or other type of organics, just goes from clear to completely dirty within a week or so. If I use a flock or clarifier it will all drop and I can clean to waste. I've opened up the sand and ran a hose in there with my hand to "clean" and break up the sand more than backwashing will do. As it stands now, it just doesn't seem to be filtering the water at all...and this came on kinda sudden. Even if I use DE powder to enhance the sand filtering process...just doesn't seem to work.

    So the question is should I go through the replacement process...even though its the end of the year and I'm soon to close? Or should I just balance the chemicals and close with this dirt still in the water (I hate that idea though and could do a flock to clean out before hand). We've lived in this home for 4 yrs and I do not have any idea how old the current sand is.

    Any help or suggestions are appreciated.
    33000 IG Vinyl, Sand Filter, Circupool SWG, Polaris 180 w/Booster Pump, Mosquito Misting System, Home Automation

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Central NJ
    Posts
    3,192

    Re: Do I need new sand?

    1st, the good news,I doubt it's the sand. Now for the potential real problems. A leaking multiport valve may be the culprit, a broken stand pipe can do it, where the two meet may be stretched, or a broken lateral can do it.

    Scott
    Owner of - PoolGuyNJ LLC
    Expert Pool and Spa Repairs, Renovations, and Augmentation. Helping people decide what is the right gear for meeting their needs. Expectations Set, Expectations Met, No Surprises.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,085

    Re: Do I need new sand?

    Like poolguynj, I doubt the sand is the culprit. I suspect your water chemistry lacks chlorine (or you could have mechanical issues as poolguynj suggests). You will get much better advice if you post a set of test results and we'll go from there.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    44

    Re: Do I need new sand?

    Hmm....assuming the chemistry is correct (I'm not in the country right now to check...wife doing work, etc), when I return how do I go about checking the aforementioned mechanical issues? I thought the broken lateral situtation would result in sand coming in the pool via returns (which it is not).

    thanks!
    33000 IG Vinyl, Sand Filter, Circupool SWG, Polaris 180 w/Booster Pump, Mosquito Misting System, Home Automation

  5. Back To Top    #5

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,085

    Re: Do I need new sand?

    My first choice would be to check the chemistry because that's easy. If that's not the issue, you can start to inspect your filter.

    PS - After re-reading your post, I strongly suspect your chemistry (lack of chlorine) as the issue. Floc and Clarifiers are never needed in a properly balanced pool. I would plan to shock the pool when you get back.

    Pool School has two good articles....the ABC's of Pool Water Chemistry and How to Shock your Pool....check 'em out.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    44

    Re: Do I need new sand?

    I'll be back in the good ole' USofA on Thurs. In the meantime the wife has been adding chlorine for me twice a day with 24 hr pumping to see if its an allege bloom. I do not expect it to be as I had this issue just prior to leaving where the pool is just getting dirty, no filter pressure rise, and the dirt was settling to the bottom...but was so fine I could only vacuum to waste (which is killing me in new water).

    So, if it is NOT a bloom...how do I check for the other mechanical problems?

    thx.
    33000 IG Vinyl, Sand Filter, Circupool SWG, Polaris 180 w/Booster Pump, Mosquito Misting System, Home Automation

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •