Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: New Gas meter?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Drifting the watelands of NJ
    Posts
    35

    New Gas meter?

    After my gas line was hooked up to my heater, I was told to wait until it was inspected (It was ) and then call the Gas company to request them to put in a new meter. The Gas company does this free of charge. (That's what makes me suspicious.) My house is only 6 years old (I am original owner) and the gas meter seems fine. My house has gas heat (2 units), gas dryer, gas stove, gas fireplace and hot water heater. Most of these would be off in the summer. (Heater and fireplace). so why do I need a new meter? Might I benefit from a less accurate older one?
    35,000 gallon 800 Sq. foot gunite, 50 x 22 freeform. 2 sheer Descent waterfalls from 2 foot raised beam wall, Jandy heater, Polaris 280, 2 H.P. pump, DE 60 filter, Nature2, 2 Jandy color lights, 1000 Sq foot of Stamped concrete.

    Master Spa LS850

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879
    Gas meters have a maximum volume of gas that they can measure per unit time. For example, the meter we had when we bought the house maxed out at 250,000 btu, which is fairly common though they do come bigger than that. Anyway, a pool heater can be huge, often 400,000 btu, which is often more gas than everything else you already have put together. If you don't have the proper size meter you won't get sufficent gas flow and the heater either will not work correctly or more commonly will not work at all.

    The gas company makes their money when you use the heater. The extra money spent heating the pool will more than pay for the new meter. You are lucky, we had to pay the gas company to install the new meter. The meter was free, but we had to pay for the guys time to put it in.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Leander, TX
    Posts
    14
    you need a new, larger one to supply the volume of gas needed to run several of the items you listed at once. if you were only running your pool heater, you might have a large enough supply through your current meter. but when you start cooking dinner on your gas stove, doing dishes with h2o heated by the water heater, and your significant other throws a load of clothes in the dryer, your screwed! it can be dangerous. take the new meter and smile . the gas company does this for free because it would be a safety issue to have too small of a meter, and they want to give you that new larger supply meter to sell you more gas!!

  4. Back To Top    #4
    98xc600's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Southern MN
    Posts
    148
    take the new meter and smile Very Happy . the gas company does this for free because it would be a safety issue to have too small of a meter, and they want to give you that new larger supply meter to sell you more gas!!


    WOW... IS THAT HOW IT'S HANDLED NOW!!
    LOL
    16' by 32' cornelius AG vinyl liner, 6' deep end, 14500 gal.
    Hayward 250 Lb sand filter
    Hayward 40 GPM pump
    2-2' by 20' sun grabber solar heater.
    4 gal Liquidator. BBB

  5. Back To Top    #5
    tagprod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Tomball, Texas
    Posts
    489
    The gas company here in houston does NOT do this for free. It cost me 300 bucks to have that meter installed here.
    Brian
    20K IG Gunite w/ raised 7ft spillover spa. 1.5 HP Hayward Northstar pump 425 sq ft Hayward cartridge filter, Colorlogic lights AquaRite SWG AquaLogic PS-8 control
    1hp pump for sheer descent

  6. Back To Top    #6
    wardsntx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Spring, Texas
    Posts
    223
    Yep,

    I was told 300 - 350 to replace. The gas company came out and said that they didn't think I needed one, but I f I had problems with the heater shutting off, then I would need to call them back out and PAY to get a new meter. Take the free one before they get wise and charge you not only for the meter, but all that gas you'll be using!!!!
    Jay
    36' x19' Freeform, 16' waterfall w/ groto and slide, 5' x 10' sundeck, 12" raised spa. Pentair IntelliTouch, Pentair IntelliFlo 4 x 160, Master Temp 400, IntelliChlor Chlorine generator, Aqua Blue PebbleSheen

  7. Back To Top    #7
    DaveNJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Toms River, NJ
    Posts
    520
    I called the gas company after my install. Did not need a meter change. When I talked to a gas company rep that came to house he said old meters would not handle the load of the heater. Also whether it was a low or high pressure area would make a difference.
    IG 18x36 oval vinyl, Spill over spa, Northstar 2hp-2spd, 2.5" piping, S310T 500lb Sand filter, 400k gas heater, AutoPilot SWCG
    http://www.tftestkits.net/

  8. Back To Top    #8
    SeanB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Missouri City (suburb of Houston, TX)
    Posts
    2,622
    We also had to pay for ours - I think it was $275. It really ticks you off because the larger meter only means that the gas company is going to make more money yet they charge you to upgrade. They did not used to do that here, but they must have figures out that if you are putting in a pool and spending 30K, you aren't going to balk at few hundred more.
    TFP Founder

    My Pool: 13K gal IG gunite with 7' spa, Pentair Cartridge Filter, Intellichlor IC40 SWG, Polaris 280 Cleaner, TF-100 Test Kit w/ salt test.

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Leander, TX
    Posts
    14
    old or new really makes no difference. it is just the size of the meters supply. our brand new house as of february had to have a larger meter installed to support all of the appliances and the pool heater. they do it for free here. i would be a little upset if i had to pay them for install, only to turn around and pay them for more gas.

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sahuarita, AZ
    Posts
    278
    Our house is only a few months old also and we had to get a new meter for our 400k BTU spa heater. The gas company came out within about 48 hours of calling and put it in for free... I'm sure they're very happy to be able to sell us much more gas.
    My Pool:
    12K gal IG gunite with 7' raised spa, gunite waterfall, PebbleTec Caribbean Blue finish, solar heating & in-floor cleaning system

    Equipment: Sta-Rite 300' Cartridge Filter, Intellichlor IC20 SWCG, Sta-Rite 400k BTU heater, Intelliflow 4x160 main pump & Sta-Rite 3/4 hp waterfall pump, EasyTouch controlls w/ wireless controller, TF-100 Test Kit w/ salt test.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •