Become a TFP Supporter Welcome to our new server and new forum software. Pool School

Thread: Closing down a 18' Intex above ground

Closing down a 18' Intex above ground

What do i need to do to close the pool down? Is it just as easy to drain it and take it down ? Total newb so most detail as possible. Searching the forum for answers hasn't really helped but makes me want more questions answered lol
    18' x 52" Intex steel frame pool
    1500 gph pool pump
    Kingston Ontario Canada

Re: Closing down a 18' Intex above ground

Here's an article in Pool School

I think the big question is, do you have room to store it if you do take it down?
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

Quote Originally Posted by Richard320
    Here's an article in Pool School

I think the big question is, do you have room to store it if you do take it down?
    Ya i could take it down and fold it up and store it in the shed till spring. I just thought it would be cheaper to start up in the spring. It cost 200 to have it filled this spring. Could it freeze and split over the winter?
    1500 gph pool pump
    Kingston Ontario Canada

Yes, you need to drain it and store it for the winter. Vinyl + ice and cold weather aren't a good mix. After draining as much water as you can, it's a good idea to take old towels and dry it as best you can (we always let our sit out a couple of days after draining it to get good and dry). If you have or can borrow a submersible pump, it helps get the last few inches of water out that never seem to want to flow through the drain.
    Nikki in IL