Newb in Need of Assistance

joe7670

LifeTime Supporter
Aug 27, 2007
I have a kidney shaped pool with about 18K gallons in Miami FL. Had a pool guys taking care of it but fired him due to some green areas on the wall.

Orderd a test kit and the readings are as follows:
FC 4.5
CC 0
TC 4.5
Ph 7.2
T/A 60
CH 460
CYA 50

How can I figure out if I need to add anything to it now?
More importantly I'll be out for 4 days beginnig tomorrow and was wondering what I need to do to make sure it's not out of whack when I get back.

Lastly, the pool guy was keeping the water in what seemed to be ok state, but these green patches kept showing up on the walls. Any ideas why this is happening? I asked him and he didn't know which I found unacceptable for someone that does this every day.

Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

I am just a novice here but I guess I will try my best.

What type of pool do you have? vinyl? fiberglass? etc.

What type of chlorine do you use? Pucks, Salt Generator, etc.

How long is your pump run time?

Have you shocked the pool recently and how often do/did you shock and how much did you use?

My guess is that your chlorine is in the 4.5 or below range. I think at some point it got a little low and allowed algae to start up. Since you have noticed the "green" have you shocked? I am in a battle with algae as we speak but seeing the end soon. The other info should help the others in this forum guide you as to what to do. My guess is that it will be to shock the pool and then keep a watch and shock again until the Chlorine holds at the shock level. I am sure someone will come rescue my efforts soon...lol.

Very soon you will be on the right track.

Ls

Hi Joe...you'll get plenty of good advice from the members here. They're a great bunch with a good deal of knowledge and experience.