Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Replace pump, or replace motor?

  1. Back To Top    #1
    embellisher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Heber Springs, Arkansas
    Posts
    31

    Replace pump, or replace motor?

    I bought my home 4 years ago and with it came a 25' above ground pool.

    My pump motor has failed. When I plug it into an outlet with a GFCI, it pops immediately. When I plug it into a regular outlet, it either throws the breaker immediately, or in one case, smoke and sparks started coming from the plug. A few mishaps last season and this season, including a major leak that caused it to suck air for 12 hours led to its early demise. It gave up the ghost a couple of weeks after I fixed the leak, and was getting noisier each day before it failed.

    The previous homeowner had a 2HP motor on the pump. Probably upsold by the pool builder. Or maybe he was Tim Allen.

    I was looking at replacement motors, knowing that 2HP is way too much for a 25'x52" AGP. It looks as if a 1.5HP motor is going to run around $225, if I install it myself. I am not real handy, and am a bit worried about replacing seals, dealing with leaks, etc. I have replaced hoses and the o-ring for the pump basket, and a few other minor things in the past.

    While pricing motors, I found this on Amazon.com. http://www.amazon.com/Hayward-SP1580X15 ... 477&sr=8-3

    That is a very similar pump to what I have, I have some kind of Hayward Power-Flo with a 2HP A.O. Smith motor.

    So, for less money than a replacement motor, I can replace my whole pump, and save the old pump to scavenge for spare parts.

    What would you do? I don't understand how it is possible to replace my entire pump for less money than a replacement motor. Do you think this is fully assembled? Would it just be a matter of pulling the hoses from the old pump, moving it, and hooking up the hoses and electricity to the new pump?

    I know I would be better off with a two speed motor, but I can't afford one right now. Maybe next season?

    Thanks!
    Experience is what you get, when you don't get what you want.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad JohnT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW Indiana
    Posts
    9,089

    Re: Replace pump, or replace motor?

    I'd replace the whole thing, though I think 1.5HP is still too big. I have 20'X36' inground and a 1HP is plenty of pump.

    If you replace the motor, you'll have to replace the impeller as well, because the motor will still try to move as much water as the larger motor and will overheat.
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Melt In The Sun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    3,899

    Re: Replace pump, or replace motor?

    I think it looks like a good deal; it should just involve switching over the hoses. I'd go for the 1 hp ($10 less); it would be plenty for your pool.
    11,200 gal, Pebble-Tec; Tristar 2-speed 1hp - Swimclear 325 ft2 cart - SWG - A & A in-floor cleaner - Heat pump. For the poolside cooking, a Yoder Wichita and a Big Steel Keg!
    TF Test Kits -- PoolMath -- Pool School
    Make each day your masterpiece. - John Wooden

  4. Back To Top    #4
    embellisher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Heber Springs, Arkansas
    Posts
    31

    Re: Replace pump, or replace motor?

    Yeah, I thought about the 1HP, but we are not sure that it would have enough 'oomph' for vacuuming. We are also thinking of buying an inexpensive suction side automatic cleaner, such as Diver Dave or Aqua Bug. Would a 1HP motor be sufficient for those?

    One more thing. What is the best way to keep from losing my water while I change out the hoses? Jam something into the hose inthe bottom of the skimmer or what? I know you pros must have a trick for this kind of thing!
    Experience is what you get, when you don't get what you want.

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad zea3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    9,200

    Re: Replace pump, or replace motor?

    Poke your finger down the skimmer where it joins the pipe. If it is threaded, you can get a 1 1/2" threaded plug to screw in the opening. You can also try an old fashion rubber sink plug either with the ring on top like they used to use in a bathtub or the round, flat piece of rubber. If you use a flat piece of rubber you may need to weigh it down with a rock.
    TFP Moderator
    Helpful links: TF Test Kits,TFP Pool School, PoolMath
    Vogue 21' round AG, Pentair 1 hp 2 speed pump, 36 sq ft DE filter, Hayward S180T 150# sand filter, Houston, Texas
    Love TFP? Become a
    TFP Supporter!

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Melt In The Sun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    3,899

    Re: Replace pump, or replace motor?

    I don't have an AGP, but couldn't you just disconnect the pump end of the hose and throw over the side into the pool?
    11,200 gal, Pebble-Tec; Tristar 2-speed 1hp - Swimclear 325 ft2 cart - SWG - A & A in-floor cleaner - Heat pump. For the poolside cooking, a Yoder Wichita and a Big Steel Keg!
    TF Test Kits -- PoolMath -- Pool School
    Make each day your masterpiece. - John Wooden

  7. Back To Top    #7
    embellisher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Heber Springs, Arkansas
    Posts
    31

    Re: Replace pump, or replace motor?

    I thought about throwing the hose over the side. I don't know how to get it to stay there, other than somebody holding it. I thought that maybe some of the pros on here had a trick they used for this kind of thing.
    Experience is what you get, when you don't get what you want.

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Randleman,NC
    Posts
    620

    Re: Replace pump, or replace motor?

    Check out poolsupply.com...Good price now,then add $20 discount make's it better!!!!I use to use a towelor a wash cloth..I would recomend putting some valve's on it..
    Leasure bay AG 24ft,52 in high.installed June of 1999. Hayworth S-180 T sand filter/Power-Flo Matrix 1horse 2 speed pump /Aqua Trol SWG/Using TF-100 Test Kit

  9. Back To Top    #9
    embellisher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Heber Springs, Arkansas
    Posts
    31

    Re: Replace pump, or replace motor?

    Quote Originally Posted by kplaster
    Check out poolsupply.com...Good price now,then add $20 discount make's it better!!!!I use to use a towelor a wash cloth..I would recomend putting some valve's on it..
    I could not find a website for poolsupply.com. I found www.poolsupplies.com, but the Haywards there were a lot higher than they are at Amazon.com. They do have some cheaper pumps, but they are from manufacturers that I have never heard of before.
    Experience is what you get, when you don't get what you want.

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Randleman,NC
    Posts
    620

    Re: Replace pump, or replace motor?

    Quote Originally Posted by embellisher
    Quote Originally Posted by kplaster
    Check out poolsupply.com...Good price now,then add $20 discount make's it better!!!!I use to use a towelor a wash cloth..I would recomend putting some valve's on it..
    I could not find a website for poolsupply.com. I found http://www.poolsupplies.com, but the Haywards there were a lot higher than they are at Amazon.com. They do have some cheaper pumps, but they are from manufacturers that I have never heard of before.
    sorry about that...you did get the right one...They do have very good service...I bought my complete filter&pump system through them 3 yrs ago during the winter..Saved a bunch...Look like they were more than Amazon...Good price ...Cannot go wrong with the Hayworth..I've got 1 horse..Had to replace the shaft seal this year other than that no other problem with the system..good luck...
    Leasure bay AG 24ft,52 in high.installed June of 1999. Hayworth S-180 T sand filter/Power-Flo Matrix 1horse 2 speed pump /Aqua Trol SWG/Using TF-100 Test Kit

  11. Back To Top    #11
    lulupalooza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Evans, GA
    Posts
    323

    Re: Replace pump, or replace motor?

    We have a 27x52 AGP and I use a threaded cap that I got from Home Depot to plug the hole in the skimmer. One thing I noticed about an AGP, it is super hard to get the darn lid off the pump basket if you ever want to clean it out!

    I also have the pool rover jr pool cleaner. I LOVE it! It runs of its own power supply. Just drop it in and leave it for an hour and let it do it's thing. I have a lot of pinestraw that loves to fall into my pool. So sometimes I have to pull it out every 30 mins and clean out the filter bag. But it picks up fine dirt and particles great!
    *~ Laura ~*
    27x52 Aquasphere Conquest AGP (approx.17,100 gal)
    1 HP Pentair Dynamo Pump & SD-40 Sand Filter
    TF-100 Test Kit
    BBB User- Salt Added

  12. Back To Top    #12
    embellisher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Heber Springs, Arkansas
    Posts
    31

    Re: Replace pump, or replace motor?

    My new pump came yesterday. I didn't get a chance to work on it until this morning. Took about 30 minutes and the new one is now circulating my swamp. Hopefully I will be swimming again by Sunday or Monday. Got my chlorine up to shock levels, I am sure I will need to work on the ph once I get the algae under control. This new pump is so much quieter than the old one was! We first turned the old pump back on back in June of 2007, and even then it was a lot noisier than the new one. You can barely hear the new one at all.
    Experience is what you get, when you don't get what you want.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •