Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: marcovegas ESC-36 problem

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas NV
    Posts
    4

    marcovegas ESC-36 problem

    All of a sudden my ECO-Matic ESC-36 is not making any chlorine.
    Chemistry is pretty good: pH 7.4, TA 80, CH high which has always been the case here in Las Vegas, CYA 70, Phosphate 50, Salt 3,400 and both operation LEDs are still green
    I called Eco-Matic and they told me the salt level was too low and raise it to 5,000 ppm. I did it and it’s still not generating any chlorine.
    The cell is 1 ½ y.o and has always been very clean. I’ve been checking it regularly and just hosed it every time. One of the connectors is extremely hot and was slightly loose, so I tightened it.
    Does anyone know what should be the next step? I don’t know how to test the two black connectors’ voltage and what reading it should be? I have a multimeter and I know it’s DC current but have no clue where and how to measure. Is there a way to check the motherboard? I’ve been told that it could be shot?
    25,000 gallons, IG plaster, Filter Sta-Rite System 3 Modular Media Filter Model S8M150 (has 2 filters: one large and a smaller one), Sta-Rite Pump MAX-E-Glas II 3 HP Model P4E6H-190L
    Eco-Matic ESC-36 salt chlorinator

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    MS
    Posts
    17

    Re: marcovegas ESC-36 problem

    I have a Eco-Matic 36 bought at the beginning of the year. I thought it was not making enough chlorine. I called Eco Matic and they gave me the correct voltage and amperage readings. I do not remember what they was. You could call and ask. When I raised my salt level like you did, It fixed my problem. What reading are you getting on your control box.
    18X36, vinyl, 21,000 gallons, sand filter, 1 HP Pentair pump, Eco-Matic ESC-36 SWG, 280 Polaris with booster pump. Pentair LED Intellibrite light, Intermatic I Wave wireless panel, TF-100 test kit, Taylor SpeedStir

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    874

    Re: marcovegas ESC-36 problem

    the loose connector would do it

    you won't be able to measure current with multimeter, as your unit probably runs at 25 amps - you need a fluke.

    you can measure DC voltage though and compare it to the specs but that won't tell you much apart from the fact that your control box is working.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    MS
    Posts
    17

    Re: marcovegas ESC-36 problem

    I checked my ESC-36 this am. It has 24 DC volts between the 2 black wires. Each wire is drawing appx 9 amps. I hope this helps.
    I would make sure my salt level was correct. Like I said in the earlier post my Eco-Matic would not work right until I got the salt up to 4500. My pool builder left it at 3500. Salt level at 3500, I was having to run mine at 100% for 12 hrs and avg 1 to 1.5 TC. After raising salt to 4500, I can run mine for 10 hrs at 50% and have 3.5 TC.
    18X36, vinyl, 21,000 gallons, sand filter, 1 HP Pentair pump, Eco-Matic ESC-36 SWG, 280 Polaris with booster pump. Pentair LED Intellibrite light, Intermatic I Wave wireless panel, TF-100 test kit, Taylor SpeedStir

  5. Back To Top    #5
    dmanb2b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    3,728

    Re: marcovegas ESC-36 problem

    While you're trying to figure this out, you should be adding liquid chlorine to the pool to maintain an FC of 5ppm and while you're at it, perform an overnight FC loss test to confirm it is not something organic in your water that is keeping the chlorine low vs your SWG not working
    24'x52" AGP (13,500 Gallons), Intex SWG, (2)Solar Bear 4x20 panels, Hayward S220T Filter, 1/2hp Pentair Superflo

    Pool School, TFTestKits, Pool Calculator

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas NV
    Posts
    4

    Re: marcovegas ESC-36 problem

    I waited a few days before telling about the result I got from raising my salt level from 3400 to 5000. It took about 3 days to show that my ESC was back to making chlorine to normal level

    I followed Aaron advice confirmed by the Ecomatic people to raise the salt level to 4500-5000. What I still don't understand is that the cell had been working perfectly for 2 years at 3400ppm???
    25,000 gallons, IG plaster, Filter Sta-Rite System 3 Modular Media Filter Model S8M150 (has 2 filters: one large and a smaller one), Sta-Rite Pump MAX-E-Glas II 3 HP Model P4E6H-190L
    Eco-Matic ESC-36 salt chlorinator

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    874

    Re: marcovegas ESC-36 problem

    it's probably signs of cell dying...

    you can prolong life of cells by dumping more salt in

    with regards to ecomatic, unless it's some sort of special model for USA market - it should be 4000-5000ppm

    3000 is the minimum, but running it at the minimum will stress it unnecessarily

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •