Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: New place with a pool, Need help!

1. Back To Top    #1

New place with a pool, Need help!

Hello All,

We recently moved into a new place and have a pool in the back yard. The pool is great and my kids enjoy it but it is pretty cold and doesn't get a lot of direct sunlight. There is a pump and filter on the side and a solar heating system piped to the roof. I see that the filter is running but I don't think the solar heater is on at all. I am a real noob when it comes to this stuff and was hoping some of you could lend your expertise on the subject. I have a bunch of pics of the filter and will post a pic of the pool as soon as I can.

The pool guy who comes by to check on it says it will cost $400 to fix the pump and another $400 per panel to fix the solar heating if they need repair (3 panels I think).

If you guys could help me identify what I have and point me in the right direction that would be great!

Thanks

Pool Size (not sure) 10,000 gallons?
    138 sq ft cartridge filter
    In ground
    plaster pool
    3/4 hp pump

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: New place with a pool, Need help!

If you could shoot some close ups of the labels on the equipment that would help. Also post a picture of your pool. I am sure it is larger than 1000 gallons! Approximately how long, wide and deep is the pool?

That big green box in the back looks like it could be a heater. You might have a cartridge filter. The thing with the aqua chlor sticker looks like a it may be automation, such as timers.