Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: A Couple Quick AutoPilot Question

  1. Back To Top    #1
    kcjonz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    26

    A Couple Quick AutoPilot Question

    I'm looking at getting an AutoPilot Digital w/ Dig 48 like this one

    I'm wanting it to control my two speed pump. The owners/installation manual says "Connecting DIG-220 to Control a Two-Speed Pump (with optional pump relay installed)"

    Question #1) Do I need to buy a pump relay or is it included?

    It also says "Note: The pump is always powered and will run continuously on low speed when internal time clock program does not have the pump operating on high speed."

    Question #2) From reading this the pump will run on low 24/7 and the AutoPilot will merely kick it to high when activated? Do I need a secondary controller to turn pump completely off?
    ____________________________________________
    18 x 36 IG Vinyl (28,000 G), AquaRite Goldline T15 SWG, Intermatic PE153, 1/6 - 1 HP Pump, Triton Sand Filter, TigerShark QC

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: A Couple Quick AutoPilot Question

    The AutoPilot timer can be setup to switch the pump between two states, either on/off or high/low. If you want to be able to automatically select between three different states (off/low/high) you will need an external timer in addition.

    The relay used to be included. Now it is optional and must be requested. AutoPilot says that it should not cost extra. I'm not sure how that works in practice.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,455

    Re: A Couple Quick AutoPilot Question

    The relay is no charge but must be requested at the time of ordering the DIG-220.
    In order to turn the pump off completely, you will need to turn it off at the breaker, or add a separate switch (to manually turn it on/off) or time clock (to automatically turn it on/off).
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    National Accounts and Commercial Products Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  4. Back To Top    #4
    DaveNJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Toms River, NJ
    Posts
    520

    Re: A Couple Quick AutoPilot Question

    My 2spd pump is wired to the Autopilot. I use an Intermatic timer to turn off the Autopilot. Have been running this setup for 5+ years.
    IG 18x36 oval vinyl, Spill over spa, Northstar 2hp-2spd, 2.5" piping, S310T 500lb Sand filter, 400k gas heater, AutoPilot SWCG
    http://www.tftestkits.net/

  5. Back To Top    #5
    kcjonz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    26

    Re: A Couple Quick AutoPilot Question

    Ok i have an Intermatic PE153 digital timer that was given to me that I have yet to install.

    So I can hook it up then run the Autopilot off it an the pump Hi/Lo off of the AutoPilot.

    This seems like a little overkill to me.

    Currently I never run my pump on high unless vacuuming or backwashing. Could I get away without the Intermatic? Meaning if I had the AutoPilot set to control Low/Off, how would I kick the pump to High manually?
    ____________________________________________
    18 x 36 IG Vinyl (28,000 G), AquaRite Goldline T15 SWG, Intermatic PE153, 1/6 - 1 HP Pump, Triton Sand Filter, TigerShark QC

  6. Back To Top    #6
    kcjonz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    26

    Re: A Couple Quick AutoPilot Question

    Now that I think about it more, I guess I would just uses the Intermatic timer instead of the relays in the AutoPilot.

    The PE153 I have will control 3 things at a time (pump hi/lo & SWG) and has freeze protection.

    How would you guys hook it up?

    Any disadvantage to just having the AutoPilot basically unplugged and plugged back in by timer?

    Using an external timer would I be better off with the Soft Touch?

    Thanks in advance.
    ____________________________________________
    18 x 36 IG Vinyl (28,000 G), AquaRite Goldline T15 SWG, Intermatic PE153, 1/6 - 1 HP Pump, Triton Sand Filter, TigerShark QC

  7. Back To Top    #7
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: A Couple Quick AutoPilot Question

    My favorite setup is to have the AutoPilot control when the pump is on or off and have a manual switch to control high vs. low speed. If you have the AutoPilot control the pump on/off you get prime protection, which you don't get with any of the other combinations.

    The Digital has a couple of features that the Soft Touch doesn't, notably the alpha/numeric display. The Digital also has freeze protection.

    It is totally fine to have a timer turn the AutoPilot and the pump both on/off together.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •