Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Where did all my CYA go

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Where did all my CYA go

    Ok, I've been doing BBB since about the second week in July.

    Overall, I have been very pleased with the results, though I have cursed it a few times when I needed to add bleach at 8:00 PM and was completely out of it.

    Anyway, I am using test strips to test my water, because budget did not allow for a good test kit this year. When I started BBB, my CYA levels were testing at 35. Since I thought CYA doesn't evaporate, I pretty much ignored the CYA on my strip and just checked free chlorine, ph and hardness.

    Last night, I decided to check all 4 tests, and my strips say the CYA level is 0. How is that possible? It's mid-August now, and the pool will be closed the weekend after Labor Day, so I really don't feel like buying CYA this late into the swimming season.

    I know I should probably buy a good test kit, or take the water into a store to have it tested.

    But I am curious. How can one lose CYA?

    Andy
    24' round Vinyl lined Sharkline pool, 4' deep
    13,500 gallons, buried 1 foot deep
    1.0 hp pump
    Hayward EC-65 DE Filter
    Polaris 65 Automatic Pool Cleaner

  2. Back To Top    #2

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,084

    Re: Where did all my CYA go

    I know I should probably buy a good test kit, or take the water into a store to have it tested.
    That may bethe answer. Strips seem especially notorious for willd results when testing CYA.

    If you put it in there and calculated the dosage carefully, then you probably still have some. YOu will lose some to splashout over an active period but not enough to bring it to zero. You could likewise have an auto-fill device and a leak in your pool but my prime suspect would be the strips.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    70

    Re: Where did all my CYA go

    I've had test strips that were completely unreactive and some that reacted partially. If you are going to use strips I'd suggest that you take more than one reading because they can be all over the place. You can't beat a decent test kit!

    That being said, why not get to your friendly local pool store?
    Peter
    21' X 52" above ground
    1 HP Hayward Power Flow Matrix Pump
    Hayward EC40C DE Filter

  4. Back To Top    #4

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    London and France
    Posts
    574

    Re: Where did all my CYA go

    I tested three pools at the start of the season, CYA levels 140, 160 and 190, the test strips from three different well known companies read 30-40 and 0

    Make your own conclusions but the money wasted on strips vs the excellent Duraleigh TFP kit at an excellent price?
    I cannot yet buy the component parts of that kit for anywhere near the money, trust me I have tried.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    70

    Re: Where did all my CYA go

    Quote Originally Posted by teapot
    I tested three pools at the start of the season, CYA levels 140, 160 and 190, the test strips from three different well known companies read 30-40 and 0
    Ouch!!!
    Peter
    21' X 52" above ground
    1 HP Hayward Power Flow Matrix Pump
    Hayward EC40C DE Filter

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: Where did all my CYA go

    I've had my test strips read 0 CYA when my TFP kit test CYA at 40 or 50.
    23,000 gallon in ground pool with rock waterfall and spillover spa, Aqualink control system, Polaris 380 cleaner, Purex Triton Clean&Clear Plus cartridge filter. Located in The Woodlands, Texas.

    Pool owner since Nov 2008, Trouble Free since April 2009. Happy to help when I can.

  7. Back To Top    #7
    solarboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    337

    Re: Where did all my CYA go

    I've put 2kg's of Trichlor in my pool which should have raised CYA to 40 but my aquacheck strips still show 0, and they are 1 month old and were stored in the cool.
    Self built 5500 gallon bare concrete (temporarily) pool with limestone coping, Pentair Swimmey 1/2 HP pump, Triton sand filter with DE, Simpool peristaltic muriatic acid pump with pH sensor and Monarch SWG. Home made solar heater with Pentair Compool control panel and 3 way valve. 1 skimmer, 1 main drain, 2 returns, 2" plumbing, Hayward auto fill valve.

  8. Back To Top    #8
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Where did all my CYA go

    Test strips can still be wildly wrong even when they are new, especially on the CYA test.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •