Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Buying a new pump motor a couple questions

1. Back To Top    #1

Buying a new pump motor a couple questions

Hi I'm pretty new to this pool forum. I'm so glad I found it.

I have a A.O.Smith 1&1/2 HP 3450 RPM pump that just stopped working yesterday.

1.) Is a 2 speed 1&1/2 HP motor the way to go with a replacement?

2.) In reading a lot of the info on here it seems I can use a smaller motor and get the same result. Is that true?

3.) Can I take the broken motor to a motor repair shop and have it fixed then have a back up for when needed?

Thank You everyone.
    22K gal, IG Vinyl, ?HP pump, ? sqft Hayward DE filter with a currently injured Dolphin Diagnostic cleaning robot. Pool built in 2001, new liner 2013.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Buying a new pump motor a couple questions

1) A 2-speed is definitely the way to go.

2) Without knowing anything about your equipment I can't comment on this one!

3) You certainly can. I'd get them to give me an estimate before I committed to anything though. It may wind up being cheaper to buy a new one.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

3. Back To Top    #3

For #2, you can only use a smaller motor if you also reduce the size of the impeller (i.e. lower HP impeller rating). Sometimes that requires a new diffusor as well. Reducing the impeller size and motor basically reduces the HP of the pump and will reduce energy usage as well.
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

4. Back To Top    #4

Which is better for a 14x28 pool, a variable speed pump or a 2 speed pump?