Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Chlorine to bromine to chlorine

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Chlorine to bromine to chlorine

    Read about bromine (although not well enough) and decided to use it in my above ground pool. WRONG! Water turned disgusting. Called the place I purchased the bromine and they told me to let the bromine level drop to zero then just start adding chlorine. Well I did just as they suggested and my pool still looked awful. I used an algeaside, pH plus, Alkaline plus and stabilizer. When I used the stabilizer the bromine went off the charts. I call them back and was told I had to change the median in my sand filter drain the pool some and refill it. I called the place where I purchased the pool and they said they don't use bromine on pools so they couldn't help me. It's the end of July and my kids can't swim because I'm afraid to let them. My husband is madder that ever about all of this and I don't know what to do. Please help me . Thank you!
    First time pool owner of an AG Intex Easy Set 15'x48' (~3500gallons)
    Krystal Clear Filter Pump

  2. Back To Top    #2
    svenpup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    835

    Re: Chlorine to bromine to chlorine

    There are many threads here about converting from Bromine to chlorine including this one.

    The issue is that a 100% drain is required to get rid of all the Bromide.

    You should read Once a Bromine Pool...Always a Bromine Pool!
    TFP Method Advanced Intermediate
    • 17,500 gallons - In Ground - Plaster - Hayward Swimclear 3020 Cartridge Filter - Sta-Rite Max-E-Glas Main Pump upgraded with A.O. Smith B2980 E-Plus New Centurion Two-Speed Motor - Polaris 280 Cleaner with Polaris PB4-60 Booster Pump - TightWatt2 Timer - Taylor K-2006 Test Kit - Pool Pilot Digital Nano SWCG

    Helpful Links: Pool School, BBB for Beginners, How to Shock (hint...it's a process not a product), Chlorine/CYA Chart, Jason's Pool Calculator

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Re: Chlorine to bromine to chlorine

    Will I have to change the median in my filter as well as drain my pool? What a costly mistake. Wish I would have stumbled on this website before I switched.
    First time pool owner of an AG Intex Easy Set 15'x48' (~3500gallons)
    Krystal Clear Filter Pump

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Posts
    50

    Re: Chlorine to bromine to chlorine

    I too am new here...but I think the experts here will want to now some more info.

    1.Water test results

    2.Is this a new pool setup?

    3 If this is not a new setup...how long has it been since you replaced your sand.

    1) 8500 Gallons (18 foot, 52 inches deep)
    2) Hayward Cartridge Filter
    3) Above Ground Pool
    4) Hayward 2 HP pump

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Re: Chlorine to bromine to chlorine

    No it is not a new pool and I believe I changed the sand in my filter two years ago. I only have "test strips" but it showed Very High levels of bromine.
    First time pool owner of an AG Intex Easy Set 15'x48' (~3500gallons)
    Krystal Clear Filter Pump

  6. Back To Top    #6
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,965

    Re: Chlorine to bromine to chlorine

    Quote Originally Posted by solarmom
    Will I have to change the median in my filter as well as drain my pool? What a costly mistake. Wish I would have stumbled on this website before I switched.
    I don't think it is necessary to change the sand - it isn't like a Baq conversion.

    I'm sorry this has happened...I too wish you had found our site first. Once you get the water replaced we can help you balance your new water.
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Re: Chlorine to bromine to chlorine

    Thank you so very much, at least that's a small amount of good news. At this point in time I'll take any good news I can get. I will begin to drain my pool this evening and them fill it back up . This has definately been a costly mistake , one that I'll never make again!
    First time pool owner of an AG Intex Easy Set 15'x48' (~3500gallons)
    Krystal Clear Filter Pump

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Re: Chlorine to bromine to chlorine

    I have drained my pool to about a 2 foot level, do I need to completely drain it or can I fil it back from here? Thank you.
    First time pool owner of an AG Intex Easy Set 15'x48' (~3500gallons)
    Krystal Clear Filter Pump

  9. Back To Top    #9
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,965

    Re: Chlorine to bromine to chlorine

    Completely would be best at this point.
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Chlorine to bromine to chlorine

    From what I understand, if you don't drain it completely and rinse out the plumbing and filter, when you fill it back up you're going to have a bromine pool again. I think with a complete drain and rinse, you'll be fine.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: Chlorine to bromine to chlorine

    Dave J,
    You are so very right!!!! My husband would not let me drain all the water out of the pool. He stopped it at about 1.5 feet. He began to fill the pool and I told him what y'all told me to do. He refused to allow me to drain the pool completely! Filled the pool back up. I back washed it, flushed the waste and rinsed the crud out of the filter. Filled the pool back up to an acceptable level and started to add chemicals. First pH plus then I shocked the pool and WHAM that **** bromine was at high levels again. He thought I'd ruin the liner if I drained it all the way down, get this... he thought I paid $1,500 for the new liner we put in a couple of years ago. Yea, I couldn't believe it either. Like I'd spend that kind of money on a stinkin liner! I can't afford to drain the pool and fill it up again, I simply don't have that kind of extra cash lying around. This just sucks! Can my kids swim? Or do I have to wait until I can afford to drain the pool again? Grrrrr!!!!!
    First time pool owner of an AG Intex Easy Set 15'x48' (~3500gallons)
    Krystal Clear Filter Pump

  12. Back To Top    #12
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Chlorine to bromine to chlorine

    I'd think that if you treated it just like a bromine pool again you'll be fine.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Re: Chlorine to bromine to chlorine

    but I don't want a bromine pool, I want my chlorine pool back.
    First time pool owner of an AG Intex Easy Set 15'x48' (~3500gallons)
    Krystal Clear Filter Pump

  14. Back To Top    #14
    dmanb2b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    3,728

    Re: Chlorine to bromine to chlorine

    are you sure it's just not chlorine registering as bromine at this point? I would think if you have not added any Bromine or chlorine after the fill both would register low

    What are you numbers after the fill? Just wondering why the PH+, unless your fill water PH is 7 or below?
    24'x52" AGP (13,500 Gallons), Intex SWG, (2)Solar Bear 4x20 panels, Hayward S220T Filter, 1/2hp Pentair Superflo

    Pool School, TFTestKits, Pool Calculator

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Re: Chlorine to bromine to chlorine

    I did add 3" chlorine tabs after I refilled the pool and backwashed the filter etc... I use those test strips from Wally World (Walmart) and it has both chlorine and bromine squares. I have never ever seen the bromine register before I used the bromine tabs (for only 2 days mind you.) Even after I refilled my pool the water looks brownish green, it's clear but not pristine like before this bromine mess. The pH registered low so I added pH plus then shocked the pool and BAM there was the bromine again.
    First time pool owner of an AG Intex Easy Set 15'x48' (~3500gallons)
    Krystal Clear Filter Pump

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Re: Chlorine to bromine to chlorine

    Bromine level (as the test strips show) are dropping. We swam today and no side effects from the bromine. Hopefully with the pool being in direct sun next year will yield no bromine. Thank y'all for all your help with this situation. I sang y'all praises on FB. THANKS!
    First time pool owner of an AG Intex Easy Set 15'x48' (~3500gallons)
    Krystal Clear Filter Pump

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •