Become a TFP Supporter Welcome to our new server and new forum software. Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Negatives of using bleach? And bleach vs. liquid chlorine?

Negatives of using bleach? And bleach vs. liquid chlorine?

Just curious, if there are negatives to using bleach?

For instance for tabs, it is commonly pointed out that CYA builds up when using tabs.

How about bleach? And any thoughts on using 6% bleach vs. 10% or 12% pool chlorine? For instance would using twice the amount of 6% bleach add anything more to the pool than 12% chlorine?

Thanks for your thoughts,

Jeff
    40 x 16 (28k gallon) plaster pool, Intelliflo VF pump, Hayward 48 sq. ft. DE filter, using Purifiber, using BBB

Re: Negatives of using bleach? And bleach vs. liquid chlorine?

I've been using bleach for a couple of months with great results. The only downside for me is having to carry those heavy bottles. If I had access to 12%, I would get that so I'd have half as many to deal with. Local pool stores don't carry it. Home Depot has 10%, but the bottles look like they have been around for quite a while. I plan to switch to a SWCG next year, budget permitting.
    Larry
    16x28 vinyl inground kidney, 1HP pump, sand filter, Compupool SWG, 11K gallons

Yup the downside is the jugs, concentrated would be nice if the price was same or better. Locally it is worse, somehow.
    23,000 gallon in ground pool with rock waterfall and spillover spa, Aqualink control system, Polaris 380 cleaner, Purex Triton Clean&Clear Plus cartridge filter. Located in The Woodlands, Texas.

Pool owner since Nov 2008, Trouble Free since April 2009. Happy to help when I can.

I'm fortunate, my local pool store carries 12.5% and it is about $2.50 a gallon. Much better price than Leslie (which is almost twice as much) and the other pool stores that have the 5 gallon jugs.
    55k gallons, IG, Gunite w/pebble tec (dark grey), Sta Rite S8M150 50-124 fr, 2HP Sta Rite pump