Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 28

Thread: Anyone use an Intex unit in an inground pool ?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Anyone use an Intex unit in an inground pool ?

    Just trying to find out if anyone has tried to use the Intex units in an inground pool. I called Intex and got a generic response. I can't see why it would not work (we have a small inground pool (7500 gal)). The generator itself is 2 pieces of Titanium hooked up to a DC power supply. I guess I can't see why I should pay $400-700 when I can generate the chlorine just as well for less.

    Thanks

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Anyone use an Intex unit in an inground pool ?

    Welcome to TFP!

    Yes, you can certainly get the Intex SWG to work in an in-ground pool. However, it does not meet electrical code safety requirements for a permanent install.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3
    NWMNMom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Waaay NW MN
    Posts
    1,582

    Re: Anyone use an Intex unit in an inground pool ?

    I think we have someone here with a much larger IG pool who has serial plumbed two of the Intex units for their pool
    18x33x52 Buttressfree Seaspray (Wilbar) AGP - 1.5hp Pentair Maxim w/22" Pentair Meteor Sand Filter, Aqua Rite SWG System, Biltmore Walk In Steps - 2/4x20 Solar Panel Setup - Doheny Jet Drive (RIP -Pool Rover Jr) - finally hard plumbed the whole darned thing -
    Beats Driving to the Lake!

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Pearl, MS
    Posts
    49

    Re: Anyone use an Intex unit in an inground pool ?

    I plan to do exactly that, though it may be after swim season this year or next spring. I've only seen pictures of the unit, but I'd like to remove the cell from the base and install it in my return line. I may have to extend the wiring to the control unit. To get around any possible electrical problems, I'll set the timer to run at night only. My pool is 11K gallons, so it should handle my chlorine needs easily. I'd like to hear from others who have done this.
    Larry
    16x28 vinyl inground kidney, 1HP pump, sand filter, Compupool SWG, 11K gallons

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    173

    Re: Anyone use an Intex unit in an inground pool ?

    I started a new thread for my 2 intex swg setup Im going to do
    two-intex-swg-on-inground-pool-plumbing-ideas-t26446.html
    20,000 gal. 32' x 17' freeform custom pool, 3ft. shallow - 8ft. deep end, Pentair Whisper flow 2.2 HP WF-6, Purex/Triton Nautilus FNS48 DE filter, 2 Intex Chlorine Generators (retired) SR Smith Rouge Rapids curved slide, The Pool Cleaner 4-wheel model w/Hayward large leaf canister. Tightwatt pool timer Spa: Beachport 5 person/350gal. Wishlist: move Neiko Tools pump to slide, solar system, Fountain, Automation. http://www.poolcalculator.com/

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    173

    Re: Anyone use an Intex unit in an inground pool ?

    I finally got reasonable temps outside and stated the project. here are some pics I promised
    making-plumbing-adapters-for-intex-swg-for-inground-pool-t26906.html
    20,000 gal. 32' x 17' freeform custom pool, 3ft. shallow - 8ft. deep end, Pentair Whisper flow 2.2 HP WF-6, Purex/Triton Nautilus FNS48 DE filter, 2 Intex Chlorine Generators (retired) SR Smith Rouge Rapids curved slide, The Pool Cleaner 4-wheel model w/Hayward large leaf canister. Tightwatt pool timer Spa: Beachport 5 person/350gal. Wishlist: move Neiko Tools pump to slide, solar system, Fountain, Automation. http://www.poolcalculator.com/

  7. Back To Top    #7
    guamguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Guam, USA
    Posts
    388

    Re: Anyone use an Intex unit in an inground pool ?

    Civicturbo, how did your Intex install go? I'm thinking of trying one of these out on my pool, now that I've (finally!) fixed a leak and can properly maintain chemical levels in the water.
    12,800 gallon IG plaster kidney-shaped pool, waterslide, 800 gallon spa.
    1HP 2 speed Sta-Rite pool pump, 1.5 HP Sta-Rite spa jet pump. 2 skimmers, 1 main drain
    Purex-Triton TR-60 325 lb.sand filter. 2" Plumbing, Intex SWCG, TF-100 test kit.
    Link to pics of my pool! http://www.troublefreepool.com/my-oasis-t26558.html

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    173

    Re: Anyone use an Intex unit in an inground pool ?

    It went good, the generator works great! I love it for the price. I'll attach a link to the rar (like a ZIP file) of the pics. its aprrox. 50meg I needed more epoxy soo it has a small leak it one coupler. I didn't want to use the cheap flex hose included. I upgraded the return to 2" from the Multiport valve to the SWG then down to a coupling in the ground. Being as I was adding several 90's bumoing the size from 1 1/2" toi 2" slows the valocity and makes the addition on the few 90's not as bad to the system flow as compared to if I stuck with 1 1/2".
    Next I'm going to add a simple 9v battery backup so that the SWG dosen't reset to off/standby/lost programing everytime the power goes out for .5 seconds, yes .5seconds, thats all it takes and she's off again.

    So heres what I did
    1. cut thin flex tube off then cut out of collar
    2. sand the inside with 150 grit sandpaper so epoxy will adhere better
    3. cut 1 1/2" pipe to barb adapter form Lowe's down in length
    4. sand barb surface
    5. wash dust off parts and dry
    6. mixup epoxy, very messy stuff.
    7. do your best to fill the gap with epoxy.

    I used a .2oz cheap tube from Harbor Freight on one end and it wasn't enough. I ended up with a pinhole leak, now it drips constantly. use AT LEAST 1 oz. on EACH end. I tryef Marine epoxy putty around my leaking adapter and it only helped but didn't seal it.
    I would love someone elses advice as to making custom plumbing adapters and using expoxy, it was a mess! I'm dissapointed one end leaks so I have a permenently soaked cement pool equip. pad.
    On the upside SWG makes great Chlorine. got my salt from Sam's Club. 5.88 for 40lbs, Morton brand in the white bag, labeled for pools, same as in pool stores but cheaper!
    20,000 gal. 32' x 17' freeform custom pool, 3ft. shallow - 8ft. deep end, Pentair Whisper flow 2.2 HP WF-6, Purex/Triton Nautilus FNS48 DE filter, 2 Intex Chlorine Generators (retired) SR Smith Rouge Rapids curved slide, The Pool Cleaner 4-wheel model w/Hayward large leaf canister. Tightwatt pool timer Spa: Beachport 5 person/350gal. Wishlist: move Neiko Tools pump to slide, solar system, Fountain, Automation. http://www.poolcalculator.com/

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    173

    Re: Anyone use an Intex unit in an inground pool ?

    File is currently uploading to google DOCs. I will post the link shortly
    20,000 gal. 32' x 17' freeform custom pool, 3ft. shallow - 8ft. deep end, Pentair Whisper flow 2.2 HP WF-6, Purex/Triton Nautilus FNS48 DE filter, 2 Intex Chlorine Generators (retired) SR Smith Rouge Rapids curved slide, The Pool Cleaner 4-wheel model w/Hayward large leaf canister. Tightwatt pool timer Spa: Beachport 5 person/350gal. Wishlist: move Neiko Tools pump to slide, solar system, Fountain, Automation. http://www.poolcalculator.com/

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    173

    Re: Anyone use an Intex unit in an inground pool ?

    Here it is, lots of 7.1Mpixel pics of the project: https://docs.google.com/leaf?id=0Bx_PJP ... Yzhm&hl=en

    Your going to see some warning like this: Sorry, we are unable to scan this file for viruses.
    The file exceeds the maximum size that we scan. Just hit "Download anyway"
    Nice that Google is watching out a little for downloaders on the net.
    Cheers
    civicturbo
    20,000 gal. 32' x 17' freeform custom pool, 3ft. shallow - 8ft. deep end, Pentair Whisper flow 2.2 HP WF-6, Purex/Triton Nautilus FNS48 DE filter, 2 Intex Chlorine Generators (retired) SR Smith Rouge Rapids curved slide, The Pool Cleaner 4-wheel model w/Hayward large leaf canister. Tightwatt pool timer Spa: Beachport 5 person/350gal. Wishlist: move Neiko Tools pump to slide, solar system, Fountain, Automation. http://www.poolcalculator.com/

  11. Back To Top    #11
    guamguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Guam, USA
    Posts
    388

    Re: Anyone use an Intex unit in an inground pool ?

    Thanks for the pics. Hopefully I can find somebody that's selling the 2009 model and that's willing to ship to Guam without trying to charge an arm and a leg for shipping the thing I've sent a few emails, hope I get a response with good news. There was one guy on ebay looking to charge $180 on top of the price of the unit for shipping. Needless to say, he didn't get my business
    12,800 gallon IG plaster kidney-shaped pool, waterslide, 800 gallon spa.
    1HP 2 speed Sta-Rite pool pump, 1.5 HP Sta-Rite spa jet pump. 2 skimmers, 1 main drain
    Purex-Triton TR-60 325 lb.sand filter. 2" Plumbing, Intex SWCG, TF-100 test kit.
    Link to pics of my pool! http://www.troublefreepool.com/my-oasis-t26558.html

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    173

    Re: Anyone use an Intex unit in an inground pool ?

    There are several retailers in the US that sell them online, Walmart, Sam's Club, Target, Kmart, all are brick and mortar stores and Iv'e seen them on their websites.
    heres Walmarts link>> http://www.walmart.com/ip/Saltwater-System/12566370#rr
    I don't know where they ship but someone has to ship to Guam. As far as the year. Mine is the 2009 model. the 2010 model has half the chlorine and does copper ions in addition. Per a email to intex about the 14k gal. pool size spec not changing, they said with the copper it works in conjuction and can still handle it. My 2009 model works on my 20k gal. inground pool no problem at 6-8 hrs a day (unit runs 12 max) So I'm sure the 2010 model would work on your 12.8k gal pool. If you don't want the copper it has been discussed here on how to unplug/disable it.
    20,000 gal. 32' x 17' freeform custom pool, 3ft. shallow - 8ft. deep end, Pentair Whisper flow 2.2 HP WF-6, Purex/Triton Nautilus FNS48 DE filter, 2 Intex Chlorine Generators (retired) SR Smith Rouge Rapids curved slide, The Pool Cleaner 4-wheel model w/Hayward large leaf canister. Tightwatt pool timer Spa: Beachport 5 person/350gal. Wishlist: move Neiko Tools pump to slide, solar system, Fountain, Automation. http://www.poolcalculator.com/

  13. Back To Top    #13
    guamguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Guam, USA
    Posts
    388

    Re: Anyone use an Intex unit in an inground pool ?

    I've been trying to get a 2009 model from ebay, but if that doesn't work, I guess I'll get a newer one from walmart or kmart. I know they ship here. We've got a kmart here, maybe I'll drive up and see if they've got one in stock. I don't think the lower chlorine output would be a problem, since my pump runtime is about 8 hours in low speed. Once I get one, I'll be sure to post up some pics of the install process.
    12,800 gallon IG plaster kidney-shaped pool, waterslide, 800 gallon spa.
    1HP 2 speed Sta-Rite pool pump, 1.5 HP Sta-Rite spa jet pump. 2 skimmers, 1 main drain
    Purex-Triton TR-60 325 lb.sand filter. 2" Plumbing, Intex SWCG, TF-100 test kit.
    Link to pics of my pool! http://www.troublefreepool.com/my-oasis-t26558.html

  14. Back To Top    #14
    guamguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Guam, USA
    Posts
    388

    Re: Anyone use an Intex unit in an inground pool ?

    It looks like I may need a little more advice on these Intex SWG. Walmart's website lists 2 different models, 54601w and 54601wl. I can't tell the difference between the 2, except the "WL" model is $30 more. Does anyone know what's the difference?
    12,800 gallon IG plaster kidney-shaped pool, waterslide, 800 gallon spa.
    1HP 2 speed Sta-Rite pool pump, 1.5 HP Sta-Rite spa jet pump. 2 skimmers, 1 main drain
    Purex-Triton TR-60 325 lb.sand filter. 2" Plumbing, Intex SWCG, TF-100 test kit.
    Link to pics of my pool! http://www.troublefreepool.com/my-oasis-t26558.html

  15. Back To Top    #15
    dmanb2b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    3,728

    Re: Anyone use an Intex unit in an inground pool ?

    I think you are looking for the 56601 (2009 model or older)....ebay or craigslist is your best bet. I picked on up at the end of last season on ebay...and they actually sent me a newer model instead, so had to have it returned and the lady said, "well I have an old one sitting in the corner of the warehouse..."I'll take it thank you" ...her manager had to get on the phone with me before he authorized the return...he couldn't understand why I would want to return the more expensive model they sent me in error

    Anyways...as long as it does not have the ion/copper exhange gizmo on it, you should be good to go. Apparently the 2010 and newer models put out less FC as well, but I never confirmed that.
    24'x52" AGP (13,500 Gallons), Intex SWG, (2)Solar Bear 4x20 panels, Hayward S220T Filter, 1/2hp Pentair Superflo

    Pool School, TFTestKits, Pool Calculator

  16. Back To Top    #16
    dmanb2b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    3,728

    Re: Anyone use an Intex unit in an inground pool ?

    I have bought from these folks in the past with good results

    http://cgi.ebay.com/INTEX-SALTWATER-SAL ... 519656a24a

    PS...don't worry about the 3k gal capacity comments on the listing...I think those are to entice you to buy the 2010 model

    I chlorinate our 13k gal pool using the 2009 swg for 3 hrs a day
    24'x52" AGP (13,500 Gallons), Intex SWG, (2)Solar Bear 4x20 panels, Hayward S220T Filter, 1/2hp Pentair Superflo

    Pool School, TFTestKits, Pool Calculator

  17. Back To Top    #17
    guamguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Guam, USA
    Posts
    388

    Re: Anyone use an Intex unit in an inground pool ?

    I found one and it's on the way here Now the fun begins trying to fabricate adaptors to plumb it in. After it gets here, I may try to remove the cell from the base and put it directly in the return line after the filter.
    12,800 gallon IG plaster kidney-shaped pool, waterslide, 800 gallon spa.
    1HP 2 speed Sta-Rite pool pump, 1.5 HP Sta-Rite spa jet pump. 2 skimmers, 1 main drain
    Purex-Triton TR-60 325 lb.sand filter. 2" Plumbing, Intex SWCG, TF-100 test kit.
    Link to pics of my pool! http://www.troublefreepool.com/my-oasis-t26558.html

  18. Back To Top    #18
    guamguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Guam, USA
    Posts
    388

    Re: Anyone use an Intex unit in an inground pool ?

    I finished my Intex SWG install today It went reasonably well, but I ended up having to use a short length of flexpipe from the output of the SWG to the valve going to the returns There really wasn't any other way I could make it work with hard pipe without using a LOT of 90's and 45's. I'll see if I can get some pics of the install, my pumphouse is pretty tight quarters. I just went to check on it, and it's still happily cranking out the chlorine Now I just need to figure out how long it needs to run each day to maintain FC at the right level. I plan on keeping my CYA at 50ppm, and targeting a 5ppm FC, it just makes me a bit nervous going with the higher CYA levels that some with SWG's maintain. Thanks to all the great info here, I was able to get this project completed in one evening and for under $200, including the SWG, plumbing supplies, and salt
    12,800 gallon IG plaster kidney-shaped pool, waterslide, 800 gallon spa.
    1HP 2 speed Sta-Rite pool pump, 1.5 HP Sta-Rite spa jet pump. 2 skimmers, 1 main drain
    Purex-Triton TR-60 325 lb.sand filter. 2" Plumbing, Intex SWCG, TF-100 test kit.
    Link to pics of my pool! http://www.troublefreepool.com/my-oasis-t26558.html

  19. Back To Top    #19

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    173

    Re: Anyone use an Intex unit in an inground pool ?

    I had to drain more than half my pool last summer because of CYA build up due to chlorine puck use since aug. '09 i had 100-120 CYA and had a black algea problem!! You have to pour like a whole 5 gallon bucket of granual chlorine shock into a pool my size in order to get to the required 45ppm of chlorin with CYA that high! The Leslies guy just kept saying 10ppm to shock, he didn't believe me about the CYA chart here. I even printed it and brought it in to him!
    So my experience be careful with CYA you don't NEED it with a Chlorine generator, you can simply crank it up more to replace the Chlorine thats lost. BUT it is nice as it helps keep the Chlorine numbers more level throughout the day, ie the sun can't bake off the majority of your chlorine in one hot afternoon. So I use just 20ppm and would go lower in the future possibly.
    20,000 gal. 32' x 17' freeform custom pool, 3ft. shallow - 8ft. deep end, Pentair Whisper flow 2.2 HP WF-6, Purex/Triton Nautilus FNS48 DE filter, 2 Intex Chlorine Generators (retired) SR Smith Rouge Rapids curved slide, The Pool Cleaner 4-wheel model w/Hayward large leaf canister. Tightwatt pool timer Spa: Beachport 5 person/350gal. Wishlist: move Neiko Tools pump to slide, solar system, Fountain, Automation. http://www.poolcalculator.com/

  20. Back To Top    #20

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    173

    Re: Anyone use an Intex unit in an inground pool ?

    Quote Originally Posted by guamguy
    it just makes me a bit nervous going with the higher CYA levels that some with SWG's maintain.
    If a SWG manufacturer ask you to run higher CYA, be skeptical of their machine. Any CORRECTLY sized unit will be able to make all the Chlorine you need without needing a crutch to stand on. I think there is some undersizing/low output units being made that are the reason for this higher CYA recomendation for the manufacturer.
    Don't go over 60ppm you will regret it I speak now from personal experience.
    20,000 gal. 32' x 17' freeform custom pool, 3ft. shallow - 8ft. deep end, Pentair Whisper flow 2.2 HP WF-6, Purex/Triton Nautilus FNS48 DE filter, 2 Intex Chlorine Generators (retired) SR Smith Rouge Rapids curved slide, The Pool Cleaner 4-wheel model w/Hayward large leaf canister. Tightwatt pool timer Spa: Beachport 5 person/350gal. Wishlist: move Neiko Tools pump to slide, solar system, Fountain, Automation. http://www.poolcalculator.com/

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •