Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Need Help With High PH

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Frisco, Texas
    Posts
    18

    Need Help With High PH

    Hi there,

    I need some expert advice from anyone who can help me or possibly is having or has had the same situation as me. New in ground salt water pool installed in spring. I have been using the BBB method for about 1 month now, I have almost everything under control except for the PH. I know with a new pool, this will take a while to settle down, according to my pool builder.
    I have a Hayward Prologic system with swg, 18000 gal pool. From what I have read, aeration will cause PH to rise faster than normal. With my current setup, my filter is running 10 hours a day/7 days a week. I am putting acid in approx every 3 days. The way the pool company set the equiptment up, when the pool filter is running, we are getting return water from the returns in the pool, and well as the returns in the spa along with the waterfall. I can adjust the waterfall amount to almost zero, but there is still water coming from the spa returns. I questioned as to why I can't adjust the valves so not have water overflowing from the spa, regardless if it is on or not. I was told that they wired the valves the way they did because otherwise, I would not be able to keep the spa chemistry in check. My neighbor has a similar setup where they only run the spa overflow when they want. Can someone tell me if this is normal or did my pool builder take the easy way out? Is it easy to fix or a major rewire like they said? As much as we like the fountain overflowing, there are times when we would just prefer to have the pool filter going with no fountain overflow. It also tends to get rather loud especially if the fountain valve is opened up. Sorry for the long read. Thanks again.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Melt In The Sun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    3,899

    Re: Need Help With High PH

    Your pH rise is normal, with ~new plaster and SWG.

    As for the spa spillover, can you post a picture of your equipment pad? Typically, you'd be able to set the valves to pool suction only and pool return only, with no circulation in the spa.
    11,200 gal, Pebble-Tec; Tristar 2-speed 1hp - Swimclear 325 ft2 cart - SWG - A & A in-floor cleaner - Heat pump. For the poolside cooking, a Yoder Wichita and a Big Steel Keg!
    TF Test Kits -- PoolMath -- Pool School
    Make each day your masterpiece. - John Wooden

  3. Back To Top    #3
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Need Help With High PH

    Generally the spa needs to be in overflow mode at least an hour a day, usually somewhat more. Otherwise you are going to have problems with the spa.

    Many pools are plumbed so that the spa is always in overflow mode any time the pump is running (unless you are in spa mode).

    It is certainly possible to change how it is setup, but it might require some changes to the plumbing. You will still need to run it one or more hours a day, but not every moment the pool is on.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Frisco, Texas
    Posts
    18

    Re: Need Help With High PH

    Quote Originally Posted by JasonLion
    Generally the spa needs to be in overflow mode at least an hour a day, usually somewhat more. Otherwise you are going to have problems with the spa.

    Many pools are plumbed so that the spa is always in overflow mode any time the pump is running (unless you are in spa mode).

    It is certainly possible to change how it is setup, but it might require some changes to the plumbing. You will still need to run it one or more hours a day, but not every moment the pool is on.
    That would be ok with us, we would prefer not to have it overflowing 100% of the time. The super told me that they could rewire but it would be a pain for me because if I wanted it to overflow from the fountain, it would have to be manually rewired everytime.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Frisco, Texas
    Posts
    18

    Re: Need Help With High PH

    Quote Originally Posted by Melt In The Sun
    Your pH rise is normal, with ~new plaster and SWG.

    As for the spa spillover, can you post a picture of your equipment pad? Typically, you'd be able to set the valves to pool suction only and pool return only, with no circulation in the spa.
    I'll take a picture when I get home and post it tonight. The problem I see, is that the only 2 manual valves are for 1-spa fountain, 2- shear decents in the pool, everything else is automatic via wiring.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Need Help With High PH

    "Manually rewire" doesn't make any sense to me. I look forward to seeing pictures.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Frisco, Texas
    Posts
    18

    Re: Need Help With High PH

    Quote Originally Posted by JasonLion
    "Manually rewire" doesn't make any sense to me. I look forward to seeing pictures.
    I have 5 pics to upload. 3 in this reply and 2 in another
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Frisco, Texas
    Posts
    18

    Re: Need Help With High PH

    Quote Originally Posted by Scottg8580
    Quote Originally Posted by JasonLion
    "Manually rewire" doesn't make any sense to me. I look forward to seeing pictures.
    I have 5 pics to upload. 3 in this reply and 2 in another
    here are the other 2 pics.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. Back To Top    #9
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Need Help With High PH

    Wow, that is a fairly complex setup.

    It looks like they have setup the valve that selects between pool and spa return, when in pool position, to stop with the spa side still partially open. That is a fairly common setup.

    What could be done is to change the configuration of that valve to close the spa off completely. Then setup a separate bypass around that valve with it's own automated valve that feeds water to the spa. Then the new valve could be programmed as a separate feature to turn the spa overflow on and off as desired. That is a little extra plumbing, but would give you the control you want.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •