Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Very small flakes in pool

1. Back To Top    #1

Very small flakes in pool

Hello all:

This is my first year with a new pool, and I have been getting excellent advice from everyone here along the way.

Recent test results......

FC: 4.5
    CC: 0.5
    TC: 5.0
    pH: 7.8
    T/A: 90
    CH: 200
    CYA: 40

Water is clear and bright, looks great. A couple of weeks ago, I added some calcium chloride to get the CH up a little. Ever since then, we have had these small (maybe 3/8" square or so) "flakes" that show up in the water. I do not recall seeing them floating prior to adding the calcium (though they may have been there). We run our filter 24 hrs per day, yet they are still there.

Any thoughts?
    Jim

Southern Frederick County, MD - Leisure Moroccan 38 Fiberglass Pool - 19,800 gallons
    Pentair 1.5 hp 2 speed pump - Cartridge filter - Dolphin robot - TF-100 Test Kit - SWCG

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Very small flakes in pool

Sounds like it is the calcium that is coming off of your SWCG when it reverses polarity. Your CH numbers are good (great!), but if there is any build up on the cell, when it reverses polarity it kicks them off (back into the pool!). The cleaner should pick them up once they settle to the bottom, or they may go back in suspension of your pH goes down a bit.

3. Back To Top    #3

You would probably find things work out better for you if you raise your CYA a little and lower your PH.

Read:
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/pool-...ater_generator
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

4. Back To Top    #4

Bruce / FPM:

Thanks! I do realize I am a bit out of balance with CYA and pH, and maybe a little on CH.