Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Is having extra FC in pool OK?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    103

    Is having extra FC in pool OK?

    It seems that the weak exchange areas of our pool are subject to a little bit of algae even if I don't go below the target FC level. Is it ok to have a little extra FC, say 3-4ppm, in the pool just to be safe, along with brushing the affected areas. I'm kind of assuming the answer is yes, seeing that it is safe to swim in the shock level of FC for a given CYA. Thanks.
    20,000 gal., Jacuzzi 250L Laser Sand Filter, inground w/vinyl liner, 1hp pump motor, TF-100 Test Kit.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    benavidescj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Fleming Island, FL
    Posts
    431

    Re: Is having extra FC in pool OK?

    On the surface the answer to your question would be yes. I have a SWG and the recommendation is 3 -5 ppm and I tend to keep it at 4 - 6 ppm just for piece of mind. What kind of test kit are you using and can you give us a set of water test results. I suspect that your issue is not totally related to circulation.
    Carlos
    Pool: 28,000 gallons IG; IC 40 SWG; Pentair 120 gpm cartridge filter; Marble finish; Pentair Wisperflow 1.5 hp; Polaris 360
    Spa: 350 gallon; Bromine
    How to shock your pool

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Denton, TX
    Posts
    5,061

    Re: Is having extra FC in pool OK?

    Yes, there is no problem with running a higher than target FC.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,965

    Re: Is having extra FC in pool OK?

    How often are you running your pump? Does it get daytime run at all?
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    103

    Re: Is having extra FC in pool OK?

    I use the TF-100 test kit and my CYA is 70, which makes the FC target 8 or so. The ph and TA are 7.5 and 110 respectively. My FC tests at 12, which makes me think it is a circulation issue, and the algae seems to form exactly in those areas. I usually run the pump from midnight to noon, and we have a solar cover. Lately I am running the pump a little more because I'm stuck with about 40 pounds of trichlor. pucks and am trying to use them up and get more chlorine into the water. I will use more liquid chlorine when I use them up. I brushed the affected areas yesterday morning and today the area is still algae free.
    20,000 gal., Jacuzzi 250L Laser Sand Filter, inground w/vinyl liner, 1hp pump motor, TF-100 Test Kit.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad zea3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    9,198

    Re: Is having extra FC in pool OK?

    Those trichlor pucks will continue to raise your CYA, which is already higher than it should be if you do not have a SWG. The pucks will keep forever as long as they are stored in an airtight container and stay dry. Unless you have a reverse osmosis service available in your area ( and few do) you will need to drain some of your water to get rid of excess CYA. How long has it been since you tested your CYA level?
    TFP Moderator
    Helpful links: TF Test Kits,TFP Pool School, PoolMath
    Vogue 21' round AG, Pentair 1 hp 2 speed pump, 36 sq ft DE filter, Hayward S180T 150# sand filter, Houston, Texas
    Love TFP? Become a
    TFP Supporter!

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    103

    Re: Is having extra FC in pool OK?

    I tested my CYA fairly recently, and we've been having so much rain, 8" in June and 1.5" last night, that every other time I vaccuum I have to lower the water level. So I 'm assuming my CYA is not growing too much with the pucks, but I will test again soon. It's cheaper for me to do small drain and fills with the hose if necessary, to get rid of these pucks, than to go out and buy the equivalent amount in liqiud chlorine. We're on a tight budget at the moment.
    20,000 gal., Jacuzzi 250L Laser Sand Filter, inground w/vinyl liner, 1hp pump motor, TF-100 Test Kit.

  8. Back To Top    #8
    benavidescj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Fleming Island, FL
    Posts
    431

    Re: Is having extra FC in pool OK?

    Can you give us a CC test result?
    Carlos
    Pool: 28,000 gallons IG; IC 40 SWG; Pentair 120 gpm cartridge filter; Marble finish; Pentair Wisperflow 1.5 hp; Polaris 360
    Spa: 350 gallon; Bromine
    How to shock your pool

  9. Back To Top    #9
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,965

    Re: Is having extra FC in pool OK?

    It is possible to get FC dead spots.... brushing at least daily and more daytime runtime can help alleviate such an issue.
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  10. Back To Top    #10
    benavidescj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Fleming Island, FL
    Posts
    431

    Re: Is having extra FC in pool OK?

    How about what type of return, eyeball or straight and which way they are pointing. May be that could help as well??
    Carlos
    Pool: 28,000 gallons IG; IC 40 SWG; Pentair 120 gpm cartridge filter; Marble finish; Pentair Wisperflow 1.5 hp; Polaris 360
    Spa: 350 gallon; Bromine
    How to shock your pool

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    103

    Re: Is having extra FC in pool OK?

    I have no CC's, and my returns are straight. I might look into getting eyeballs. That could help a little. I think for the present time just keeping an eye on it and more frequent brushing is the answer. The little bit of algae doesn't seem to be in too much of a hurry to come back. And yes, running the pump a little more during the day is a good suggestion. I'm also going to do a new CYA test soon. I really appreciate the feedback. Thanks again.
    20,000 gal., Jacuzzi 250L Laser Sand Filter, inground w/vinyl liner, 1hp pump motor, TF-100 Test Kit.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •