Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Newbe added way too much chlorine/shock

1. Back To Top    #1

Newbe added way too much chlorine/shock

Hi,

I have a 10 ft Intex pool which holds ~1,000 gal. I picked up a pound of Aqua Chem shock treatment. I don't know how I did it but I miss-read the instructions and I put in the whole pound of shock treatment which is supposed to be good for 12,000 gallons. I did a PH strip test today and the chlorine seems to be very high. I am very new to this stuff and I'm not sure what to do. I read if you leave the cover off the pool the sun helps burn away some of the chlorine. Should I do that for a few days and retest or should I drain some of the water? Any other ideas?

Thank you!
    Travis

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Newbe added way too much chlorine/shock

THAT much chlorine ain't gonna be good for that vinyl pool. I'd drain if it was mine.
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!

3. Back To Top    #3

I wouldn't worry about it....It will come down....
    Leasure bay AG 24ft,52 in high.installed June of 1999. Hayworth S-180 T sand filter/Power-Flo Matrix 1horse 2 speed pump /Aqua Trol SWG/Using TF-100 Test Kit

4. Back To Top    #4

I read wrong too...I think That is a little too much for 1000 gal's..It will come down..But,it may take a while....
    Leasure bay AG 24ft,52 in high.installed June of 1999. Hayworth S-180 T sand filter/Power-Flo Matrix 1horse 2 speed pump /Aqua Trol SWG/Using TF-100 Test Kit

5. Back To Top    #5