Pump quit

kal2002

LifeTime Supporter
Jul 4, 2010
Sacramento, CA
Hi, I am new to servicing my pool and have been referred to this forum. Among other problems that I have been having with this pool, the pool pump is now not running. It either failed to start or quit this morning. It is a Hayward Super II 1.5HP pump. Lately, the motor has been humming after it was started but the pump did not actually run. Sometimes I turned it off and on and it worked. This morning, the timer said that it was on but it was not running. The solar control panel's lights did did not come on either. NOrmally, one of the lights is on whether the solar is on or not. So I am wondering if it could be a blown fuse. I reset the main circuit breakers but still could not get the pump to start. The pool and the equipment are 15 years old. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

First, kill all the circuit breakers that have anything to do with the pool.

Then remove the pump strainer basket and poke around to see if something is jammed in the impeller. Empty out the basket, then put everything back together. Then turn all the circuit breakers back on and try again. If the pump hums, try smacking it with a rubber mallet. Don't use a hammer, nothing that can dent the housing. Just enough to shake things up, in case it's binding for some reason.

Other than that, I'm out of ideas. I know I'd be pulling access covers and poking around with a voltmeter, but I'm not ready to try explaining it to someone else; I'm not that knowledgeable!

I actually did clean out the pump strainer basket this morning in between turning the circuit breakers on and off at the control panel. Nothing worked. It is dead. I wonder if it is getting electricity. How can I tell?