Become a TFP Supporter Welcome to our new server and new forum software. Pool School
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: aquatech diatomaceous earth filter

  1. #1
    Junior Member stephorama2010's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Haltom City, TX
    Posts
    4

    aquatech diatomaceous earth filter

    [attachment=0:3gakdzwr]filterpics.jpg[/attachment:3gakdzwr]

    I know nothing about this filter. Have searched high and low to no avail. Anyone know anything about this filter?

    Thanks!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    20K gallon, gunite w/attached spa
    2 HP WhisperFlow pump
    Kreepy Krauly Cleaner
    DE Filter
    New Gas heater being installed in a few days

  2. #2
    Senior Member sonflower's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    156

    Re: aquatech diatomaceous earth filter

    Yes. That looks just like our DE filter. Is it a 60 sq. ft. filter?

    I am not an expert; however, hubby & I have cleaned our DE filter many, many times. We have also replaced many parts in it.

    If I can answer your question I will be glad to do so.

    What do you want to know? I will try to help you.
    Pool: (2003) IG Plaster 14,209 gallon (Water Surface 421 sq. ft.) ~ Spa: 18" raised kidney
    Triple spillway (Waterfall) ~ With 6' slide ~ Hayward's Goldline Controls Aqua Rite Digital Electronic Chlorine Generator (Salt System) ~ 40K Salt Cell ~
    ~ AquaLink RS -4 ~ Purex Whisper Flow 2 HP~ Aquatech 60 sq. ft. DE Filter Normal Pressure 22 # ~ MiniMax NT (Propane) Heater 400,000 BTU ~ Jandy Valve Actuator ~Letro Legend Cleaner ~ K-2006 & K-1766 Test Kits

  3. #3
    Junior Member stephorama2010's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Haltom City, TX
    Posts
    4

    Re: aquatech diatomaceous earth filter

    Where would I find the info as to the 60 sq. ft.?

    Yours is the same brand? Any idea how old it is?

    It must be a Fort Worth thing....we are neighbors!

    Thanks so much for your reply!
    20K gallon, gunite w/attached spa
    2 HP WhisperFlow pump
    Kreepy Krauly Cleaner
    DE Filter
    New Gas heater being installed in a few days

  4. #4
    Senior Member sonflower's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    156

    Re: aquatech diatomaceous earth filter

    If you're in FW I suspect Pulliam installed your pool. Would be worth calling Pulliam & asking. Then you could get all the specs on your equipment etc. It was the specs that told me it was 60 sq. ft. I don't believe it was on the filter anywhere.
    Pool: (2003) IG Plaster 14,209 gallon (Water Surface 421 sq. ft.) ~ Spa: 18" raised kidney
    Triple spillway (Waterfall) ~ With 6' slide ~ Hayward's Goldline Controls Aqua Rite Digital Electronic Chlorine Generator (Salt System) ~ 40K Salt Cell ~
    ~ AquaLink RS -4 ~ Purex Whisper Flow 2 HP~ Aquatech 60 sq. ft. DE Filter Normal Pressure 22 # ~ MiniMax NT (Propane) Heater 400,000 BTU ~ Jandy Valve Actuator ~Letro Legend Cleaner ~ K-2006 & K-1766 Test Kits

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    750

    Re: aquatech diatomaceous earth filter

    steph, look at the bottom right corner of the label in your pic. See the hole punched out at the bottom, the second from the left? Look at the column above this hole and that should tell you the specific model # as well as the specs.

  6. #6
    Junior Member stephorama2010's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Haltom City, TX
    Posts
    4

    Re: aquatech diatomaceous earth filter

    Thank you for your replies!
    Pulliam did not install our pool but has done work on it.
    It is indeed a 60 Sq. Ft. filter. Now if I only knew what that meant!
    20K gallon, gunite w/attached spa
    2 HP WhisperFlow pump
    Kreepy Krauly Cleaner
    DE Filter
    New Gas heater being installed in a few days

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    750

    Re: aquatech diatomaceous earth filter

    It means that your grids provide 60'ft of surface area for the DE to attach to and water to filter through. Mine is only 36. Bigger is better More time between breakdown and cleaning or back-washing.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Cupertino, CA
    Posts
    1,974

    Re: aquatech diatomaceous earth filter

    Now that you know the model, it might be possible to google up an online owners manual. I was able to find one for my filter that way.

    The main reason to know the square feet is because that tells you how much DE to use. For example, in my filter, 36 ft wants 4.5 lb, and 60 ft wants 7.5 lb (i.e. 1.25 lb per 10 sq ft). I don't know whether those ratios apply to all DE filters.
    --paulr

    (Edited to fix a slipped decimal point.)
    BBB "Intermediate Swimmer"
    IG plaster pool 18.5K gal, Hayward Pro-Grid DE filter, 3/4 HP Hydramax II; Polaris 380, 3/4 HP booster
    AG spa 325 gal, probably Sundance of some kind
    Water testing instructions on one page

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    750

    Re: aquatech diatomaceous earth filter

    My 36sq' FNS+ only requires 3.5#.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •