Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Hi TFP

1. Back To Top    #1

Hi TFP

I have been looking around here for a few days, and seems like a great source of information and an easy going crowd!

I am new to pool ownership, recently purchased a home with a pool and a small toddler spa on the side (of the pool). I guess the pool is 7-8 years old, uses a SWG and a DE filter, and seems to be in good shape. Pool is maintained by a pool company that stops by twice per month.

Being a DIY type and sometime Engineer, I suspect I will take over from the pool company soon.

13,500 Gal. inground pool, Aqualink controller, Purex Triton DE filter, Zodiac SWG and Polaris cleaner.

2. Back To Top    #2
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)

Re: Hi TFP

Hi, square!

By all means, fire the pool service. I held on to mine too long; they came highly recommended by the previous owner. I won't list their shortcomings.

Head on over to and get yourself a TF100 and a speedstir. Both should appeal to your engineer mind.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

3. Back To Top    #3

Ooh, you're gonna LOVE this forum. Being an engineer by education I know that this will really appeal to your sense of order and need to play with numbers.

Do read Pool School and maybe print out the parts that are not clear on the first pass. Then find the CYA Chart and bookmark it. Then find the Pool Calculator and input your pool specs and bookmark that. That is a fun one.