Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Strange TA results w/ TF100 kit

1. Back To Top    #1

Strange TA results w/ TF100 kit

I just purchased my first TF-100 test kit and couldn't be happier!! I placed the order around noon on Thursday and it arrived via USPS on Saturday!! Although my guests this weekend were looking at me as though I was a mad scientist in his laboratory as I mixed all the different reagents, I was thoroughly enjoying these new tests and learning that my test results would be so much more accurate than guessing at the color changes on my prior test strips!!

However, I seem to be getting very strange results on my TA test. I've tested it two days in a row now and still getting results around 220-230. That seems to be off the charts for a TA level - especially considering all my other levels are within relatively normal limits:

FC = 1 (added liquid bleach to bring this up to 4)
    CC = .5
    TC = 1.5
    pH = 7.3
    CH = 220
    CYA = 50

I've noticed that most of the reagent bottles give off a nice sized "drop", but the R-0009 seems to give off very small drops and even the gentlest squeeze of the bottle sometimes throws off 2 drops (what I'm getting at is I'm wondering if the amount of or my count of the drops is even accurate).

I've performed the TA test with my HTH (WalMart) test kit and am getting a consistent reading of 70.

Any ideas what's wrong with my TF-100 testing?
    20'6" X 38'6" (609 sqft)
    22,500 gal gunite/plaster IGP
    DE filter, Jandy 2HP pump, Nature2 Sanitizer (removed cartridge!)
    Raypak 39.9K BTU gas heater
    2 ColorLogic lights, Maytronics Dolphin pool cleaner

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Strange TA results w/ TF100 kit

It's a known problem with the TA test. If you use a damp cloth and wipe the dropper between each drop you should get a proper sized drop and a correct TA number.