Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Need Help...Kids getting rashes...

1. Back To Top    #1

Need Help...Kids getting rashes...

Hi, I have been using the BBB method on my pool for 3 years with great results. My father in law throws 1 cup of Leslies chlor brite sanitizer step 2 into his pool every day and now the kids are getting rashes where their bathing suits are. His water is crystal clear. So I brought mt TF100 test kit over to check out his numbers and I need advice on what to tell him. His pool is 22,000 gallon vinyl line inground pool in North Jersey.

CL was off the chart for the basic tester. It was a bright deep yellow. I tested for FC and came up with 7 to 8 as his FC. His PH reading as well is way too LOW to even register in the test, it stays a light yellow color. His CYA has got to be some where up over 120 to 140. When I added the R0013 the water was ridiculously cloudy, after only a few ML i couldnt see the dot. When I tested for TA, after adding the r0008 after the r0007 the water turned very red and not green as it is supposed to. ***?

So what do I tell him? Where do we begin? I am guessing draining and refilling with clean water would be a good start. Any help is greatly appreciated. Like I said, thanks to this site my pool is sparkling, and any little hiccups I can handle easily with all the great on this site. This just seems overwhelming to me.

Thanks in advance............Brian
    Northern NJ, 14x32 inground fiberglass pool, 14,000 gallons, 1 1/2hp Hayward pump, Hayward c1200 cartridge filter, Pentair IC20 SWG , solar heat, mesh safety cover

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Need Help...Kids getting rashes...

Brian, sounds like he uses trichlor and doesn't pay much attention to his pool! He has very low pH, TA = 0, and high CYA. I wouldn't want my kids swimming in it!! If he's willing, a drain and refill is indeed the best way to start.