Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: How often to check cell??

1. Back To Top    #1

How often to check cell??

Is there a rule of thumb on when/how often to check the SWCG cell Does the amount of calcium in the water have an affect I would think it would, but I'm still learning. I've recently bumped my CH to 275 and plan on keeping it there due to getting a few cobalt stains. What other water factors would contribute to quicker scaling
    I did a search and couldn't find an answer.
    Lynn

16x38 FG, 20,400G, 1HP/2sp Tristar pump, Hayward 425sq ft cart. filter, Pro Logic4, SWCG, 3 returns, 2 main drains, 1 skimmer, 4 Pentair deck jets, Hayward Phantom pressure cleaner/booster pump, TF-100 of course :-)orthofish-s-pool-build-finally-t13179.html

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: How often to check cell??

The chances of calcium scaling can be estimated by looking at the CSI. The higher your CSI, the more likely you are to have scaling. If you keep CSI slightly negative, scaling is unlikely. If you follow our recommended levels you don't normally need to worry about CSI at all, since the recommendations already take that into account. In a SWG cell adding borates lowers the chances of scaling by more than is indicated by the change in CSI, because borates reduce the amount of PH swing that occurs inside the cell.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Quote Originally Posted by JasonLion
    . If you follow our recommended levels you don't normally need to worry about CSI at all, since the recommendations already take that into account. .
    Now Jason, who else's recommendations would I follow Even before I added borates this year, my pH was generally always at 7.4-7.5.
    But, should I be checking it annually More,less