Help!! Algae in an Intex Frame Style -- Inevitable???

crek31

Platinum Supporter
LifeTime Supporter
Jun 28, 2009
This is my first year with a frame style Intex pool. I bought it used and it was apparent upon setting it up that the prior owner had had algae. I filled it; shocked it; brushed it; and all has been good for a month or so. In the past few days we have had a lot of rain and the water is now approaching the top of the vinyl. Upon inspection today, I noticed algae in the "v" of the vinyl in between the sleeves, and in the sleeves, where the top rails insert. Here is my attempt at a picture to explain what I mean (note, the photo was taken after I cleaned out the "v's" as described below:
[attachment=0:tc3n70nt]P1010035.jpg[/attachment:tc3n70nt]

I know this "v" part and within sleeve or pocket was greenish upon filling, but since it was dry I didn't really worry about it :hammer: , not realizing that eventually it would become an issue as people splashed, etc, and water from that area made its way into the pool. Once the inside of the pool itself was clean, I was happy. Tonight, with the "v's" full of rainwater and slime, and overflowing into my crystal clear pool, I was no longer at all happy -- visions of a green swamp will surely dance in my head tonight! :grrrr: