Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: How to install pump

1. Back To Top    #1

How to install pump

I recently purchased a Hayward Power Flo, to replace my Power Pak1. Can anyone help with how to do this. The power pak is just connected with hoses. The new pump doesn't have anywhere to connect the hoses to. I have read the instruction book and it says something about using PVC can anyone please help and let me know what exactly I need to do!

Thank You!
    14,000 gallons, AG, Jacuzzi sand filter

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: How to install pump

I'm a relative newb at this myself, but if you post some pix of your old setup and ypur new pump I would be willing to help.

You may have to take the fittings off the old pump and put them on the new pump.
    24' Round 14K Gallons
    Hayward S180t Sand Filter
    1hp Hayward Powerflo Matrix Pump
    Aquabot Pool Rover Jr.

3. Back To Top    #3

I have checked my power pak, and the fittings can not be removed, so I'm guessing that I need some kind of male fittings. But I'm not real sure what I need.

4. Back To Top    #4

pictures of the pump will help a lot. Is it a Matrix, LX, or ???? which model? Anyway, usually you will need a threaded male PVC end to fit on the pump intake - probably 1 1/2" but it's entirely possible that there could be some out there with 2"? - the output to the filter may be the same one that goes to your current filter so nothing new may be needed there - usually that is fairly standard and may have a small O ring or gasket that goes with it.
    18x33x52 Buttressfree Seaspray (Wilbar) AGP - 1.5hp Pentair Maxim w/22" Pentair Meteor Sand Filter, Aqua Rite SWG System, Biltmore Walk In Steps - 2/4x20 Solar Panel Setup - Doheny Jet Drive (RIP -Pool Rover Jr) - finally hard plumbed the whole darned thing -
    Beats Driving to the Lake!

5. Back To Top    #5