Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Autofill question

1. Back To Top    #1

Autofill question

Hello, my pool water level has dropped 1"-1 1/2" from normal, as indicated by the 'normal' calcium ring around the tiles. I was instructed to turn my autofill "nut" counterclockwise to reset and fill the pool. Is this correct, how does the autofill work? Oh and I cannot seem to turn the nut it is on very tight. The pool was recently re-plastered so I doubt it is due to any leaks. Thanks for any help. I'm a pool newbie.
    35,000 gal. Plaster, in-ground, Hayward swimclear C4025 cartridge filter,
    5 port polaris cleaning system, Hayward gas heater, spa.
    PhoeniX, AZ

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Autofill question

That sounds like a "toilet float" type autofill. If so then they probably told you correctly. If it's not then post a pic of it and we can give better advice.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

3. Back To Top    #3

Yeah, i think you are right, but how fast should it fill/correct itself. I was told I could flood my whole backyard if I was not careful. I last adjusted ~2hours and no change is visible, but like I said the nut is really tight. How do I know if its working?
    PhoeniX, AZ

4. Back To Top    #4

It should be pretty slow once close to full. Did they turn off a valve in the line to it somewhere?

If you push the float down does the water flow from it?
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump

5. Back To Top    #5

I think it's open, if you push down the float water does flow. is the nut supposed to be REALLY tight and hard to turn?
    PhoeniX, AZ

6. Back To Top    #6