Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Filter recommendation

1. Back To Top    #1

Filter recommendation

I have a 18x36 in-ground pool with a Hayward Preflex EC-65 that needs replacing. Any suggestions for a new filter? I'm pretty new to all this. Thanks.
    In ground vinyl 18x36, 26,700 gal. HP EC-65 DE filter.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Filter recommendation

I would use the same filter as long as you want a DE filter, and it worked good with your pool. Keep in mind that whatever filter you select must be able to handle the pump output in GPM ( gal. per min. ) Also after looking at your owners manual , Do you have a base that mounts the pump as well in one unit? If so you may want to use the same filter for ease of installation.
    coloeb,
    20k gal. IG fiberglass/plaster rectangle 32'x16'
    Hayward Superpump 3/4 H.P. primary Hayward model 5060 Booster Pump
    Hayward Pro Series High Rate Sand Filter
    Pentair Model 320 automatic Chlorine/bromine in-line feeder

3. Back To Top    #3

Do you have something against the EC-65? I switched to an EC 75 from a sand filter a couple of years ago and have been very happy with it.
    Indoor 20x40 35,000 gallon vinyl pool with 1.5 HP 2 speed Jandy FloPro pump, Hayward EC75 Perflex DE filter, 11 4x12 Techno-Solis solar panels w/ Aquasolar controller, Aquabot Turbo T Robot Cleaner. Also LMI metering chlorine dispenser pump and HotSpring Jetsetter
    I use and endorse TFtestKits TF-100 from http://tftestkits.net
    ~Remember TFP counts on your donations to keep this site ad free~

4. Back To Top    #4

~ I'm happy enough with it I guess. On one site it looks like the EC75 is for a pool my size rather than the ec 65 that I have.

~ I'll have to look to see what the GPM is from the pump. The base does mount the pump. The pump seems to still be working fine so an even swap would be easier. Think this is something I could do by myself, I have at least basic mechanical skills.

Thanks.