Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: raising pH without pump running

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WNY
    Posts
    34

    raising pH without pump running

    We just uncovered our pool today and for the first time it is green and cloudy upon opening. The pump won't be turned on until Saturday and I would like to try to conquer this before then using my Dolphin and bleach. I have not tested the water yet so I can't offer any readings right now. My question is is it safe to use pH UP without the pump running and mixing it with a brush and the Dolphin if I need to? Or since I have a few days can I just keep adding bleach til it turns clear and then worry about the pH?
    23000 gal. 18 x 36 IG vinyl
    Jacuzzi Magnum Force 1.5 hp. pump
    Jacuzzi CFR 100 cartridge filter
    AutoPilot Digital 220 SWG
    LaarsLite 250 gas heater

  2. Back To Top    #2
    dmanb2b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    3,728

    Re: raising pH without pump running

    I know you say you haven't tested, but what is you're PH at? if 7.2 or above, I wouldn't worry about it, but you will want circulation when bleach is added for at least 30 mins
    24'x52" AGP (13,500 Gallons), Intex SWG, (2)Solar Bear 4x20 panels, Hayward S220T Filter, 1/2hp Pentair Superflo

    Pool School, TFTestKits, Pool Calculator

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Re: raising pH without pump running

    It would be a waste of time and money to attempt anything untill you are able to get some baseline numbers to work with. Also you will need a pump to clear your algea problem. I would say to wait untill you can approach this with the proper tools and equiptment. You will need to shock , and you want your ph to be around 7.2 when you do. Dont add any ph up untill you knopw what the ph actually is.
    coloeb,
    20k gal. IG fiberglass/plaster rectangle 32'x16'
    Hayward Superpump 3/4 H.P. primary Hayward model 5060 Booster Pump
    Hayward Pro Series High Rate Sand Filter
    Pentair Model 320 automatic Chlorine/bromine in-line feeder

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WNY
    Posts
    34

    Re: raising pH without pump running

    Here are my values: pH 7.0
    FC 0.5
    CC 0.5
    Alk 60
    CYA-30

    As I said in my first post, this is the first time we ever opened the pool to be so green. It has always been pretty clear in previous years. We found a big tear in the cover which let a lot of snow melt, rain and other junk into the pool. My main concern is the pH. Am I better off waiting on that and adjusting that last? My pool co. only adds polyquat and shock. They do no testing. I really just want to clear it up. I was hoping adding bleach and running the Dolphin might do the trick until the pump is turned on.
    23000 gal. 18 x 36 IG vinyl
    Jacuzzi Magnum Force 1.5 hp. pump
    Jacuzzi CFR 100 cartridge filter
    AutoPilot Digital 220 SWG
    LaarsLite 250 gas heater

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,337

    Re: raising pH without pump running

    With a pH of 7.0 I wouldn't worry about raising it right now. Chlorine is your biggest need. But I'd be leary of trying to shock with just the Dolphin circulating the water. I have no idea how much water the dolphin moves so it's just a guess on my part. Matbe someone with experience will comment.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    North Central Texas
    Posts
    1,358

    Re: raising pH without pump running

    Well, those familiar with gg's posts know what she's going to say. An inexpensive submersible pump is one of the best ways to help circulate your water. They aren't very expensive.

    I used two this winter, for circulation, when my pump and filter were out of the system and kept the chems totally in balance. I did have the Aquabot running a lot too that circulated and filtered about 3K gallons an hour. The submersible works best placing it on a step or bench, mostly to keep it out of the muck. If you don't have much much on bottom you can place it on the floor of shallow end. Then run the hose to the other end/side of pool to deposit the water. I like using two as it gets even more water circulating.

    If you have much muck on the bottom of pool you can put a submerged weighted 5 gallon bucket in the shallow end and put the pump down in the bucket. The submersible pump doesn't have to be sitting on a flat surface.

    If pool is all one depth then you can basically put pump any where convenient but put the return pretty much opposite, end or side to get the best circulation.

    The lower hp submersible pumps don't push water very high that's why it is best to put pump in shallower area. If you want to used it in deep end then hang it over side only about 4-6 ft depending on how powerful the pump is.

    I have one that is less hp than one but I don't know what its hp rating is. The larger one is 4/10 hp and retailed for $139 at home depot. It was the last one and a display so they knocked $39 off of price. The smaller one does a great job and it was $65 a few years ago at HD.

    I use them for so many things. One is to clean out the last bit of water when I change the spa. Another is using it to pull water out of a barrel for watering.

    gg=alice
    1981, 25K, IG, Blue Plaster 1996, somewhat oval, widens a bit at shallow end, 1.5" pipes, 2" at Pad, 1 separate main drain, 1 skimmer, 4 returns + dedicated cleaner return, 10 ft deep end with very fast decline from shallow, Pentair Quad 80 DE, Pentair Intelliflo VF, 3/4 HP Booster Pump (equipment pad about 8 ft below top of pool), Challanger 3/4 Trash/Emergency Pump 120v, Polaris 280 (pressure), iRobot Verro cleaner (robotic), Aquabot Turbo (robotic), Jacuzzi Tracker 4X (vacuum) Pool Blaster (Buster), Two (2) PoolSkims, Solar Breeze (solar powered top skimmer) (beta to ver. 2, release date 2010), ColorSplash LED replacement bulb. Aries 550 gal separate spa, 2002 (our 3rd and BEST spa) , BBB-Bromine

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WNY
    Posts
    34

    Re: raising pH without pump running

    My son spent part of the day yesterday vacuuming with the poolbuster and got the whole shallow end and part of the deep end floor cleaned up. I put the Dolphin in after adding what bleach I had around the house-1 packet of Cal-Hypo and about 2 quarts of 6% bleach-and brushed it around well. In the morning it was more of a turquoise color. I put in a gallon of 12.5 bleach this morning and now it is bright blue-just very cloudy. FC is 5 right now. I know it is not shock level but the pool co. will shock when they open. Good enough for me until it is fully open. Sat. can't come soon enough! I know I am making more work for myself by not waiting but looking at that green was so unappealing!
    GG I do have a 1/5 hp submersible pump we use for the cover in spring. That is an interesting idea using it like that. I probably won't use it now but it is good to know about if my equipment ever fails. I would have never thought of that.
    23000 gal. 18 x 36 IG vinyl
    Jacuzzi Magnum Force 1.5 hp. pump
    Jacuzzi CFR 100 cartridge filter
    AutoPilot Digital 220 SWG
    LaarsLite 250 gas heater

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •