Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Fill line suddenly not working

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Fill line suddenly not working

    It has been a wet winter in North Cal and I had not been using the fill line as the rain has been filling pool to the max.

    Now that I have reset the fill line valve to come on I noted that it was not working as scheduled. Found that it will not work when I manually press the button either.

    The lawn genie 3/4 inch valve will fill pool when I turn it on at valve. Since I lost my voltage meter I just went out and bought a new solenoid and it still will not work. I have traced the wires from solenoid to mother board in the Intellitouch and nothing is damged or disconnected or corroded or rusted. The wires connect to a connector that is plugged into Valve B and that is what the inside control says Valve B is - FILL LINE.

    1. Could I be missing a page on the indoor pad that has disabled the function of this? I change no settings but turning off solar options for heating on the touch pad and unplugging th econnection for the solar on the motherboard to safely not run up to the solar when roof plugs are open.
    2. Is it likely that the motherboard has crapped out on this circuit only?
    3. I do not know what you call the little raised black boxes (transistors?). Do these become faulty and snap out of board and are replaced?

    Clearly question 3 indicates that I could be dangerous here

    Bob
    Thanks As Always!
    Bob

    23,000 gal in-ground, Aquarite salt sys, Intellitouch i7 +3, Hayward cartridge filter (4) C-5025, Polaris 280 Pool Cleaner, 3/4 HP booster pump, Hydrazzo plaster.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,333

    Re: Fill line suddenly not working

    When you press the manual button does the relay (little black bix where the wires connect) click?
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Re: Fill line suddenly not working

    Hi!

    The only manual option I have is to press a button in the house. There is no button on the control panel that turns it on. I have a black and red wire from solenoid that trails into the control panel and is tapped into a connector that goes to Valve B on the motherboard.

    Bob
    Thanks As Always!
    Bob

    23,000 gal in-ground, Aquarite salt sys, Intellitouch i7 +3, Hayward cartridge filter (4) C-5025, Polaris 280 Pool Cleaner, 3/4 HP booster pump, Hydrazzo plaster.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,333

    Re: Fill line suddenly not working

    Where it connects to "valve B" should be a relay. If you can have someone press the button in the house while you listen to see if the relay clicks. That would at least tell you if the problem is in the unit or the external wiring.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Re: Fill line suddenly not working

    Bama,

    It does click when button pushed inside the house -
    Thanks As Always!
    Bob

    23,000 gal in-ground, Aquarite salt sys, Intellitouch i7 +3, Hayward cartridge filter (4) C-5025, Polaris 280 Pool Cleaner, 3/4 HP booster pump, Hydrazzo plaster.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,333

    Re: Fill line suddenly not working

    Well that solves the board problem. If the relay clicks the board is recieving and handling the command. That leaves the wiring since you stated you've already replaced the sprinkler valve. Can you take a picture or draw a diagram of the wiring for the valve and post it here?
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Re: Fill line suddenly not working

    [attachment=1:28uaj3qe]IMG_0942.jpg[/attachment:28uaj3qe]I get it - sothe problem is from wire on board to valve, or valve itself.
    I may have made an assumption about the valve. When I turn on the nipple screw on left water flows into the pool. So I assume the solenoid is the problem and replaced it with a 24V solenoid that appears the same. I hooked it tothe red and black wires in the white wire, leaving green and yellow snipped and no copper exposed on those. I followed the white wire into the control panel and see the black and red going into the connector clip. The clip is seated and has not been disturbed. Since I do not know how they snap those wires into the connector I have not attempted to re-do that connection. It is the clip above Valve B and to the end of the word actuator.
    [attachment=0:28uaj3qe]IMG_0944.jpg[/attachment:28uaj3qe]
    Thanks As Always!
    Bob

    23,000 gal in-ground, Aquarite salt sys, Intellitouch i7 +3, Hayward cartridge filter (4) C-5025, Polaris 280 Pool Cleaner, 3/4 HP booster pump, Hydrazzo plaster.

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,333

    Re: Fill line suddenly not working

    If you're dure relay K4 is the one clicking when you press the manual button then the problem is from the relay contacts on.

    Are there fuses for the valves in the panel?
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: Fill line suddenly not working

    Bama!

    Thanks for working this through with me and the tons of different configurations people must describe.

    After I took that picture and close the panel door the fill line worked for the first time this season!

    So I moved the wires that go to that motherboard clip connector and sure enough it shut off.

    Despite those wires looking seated in the slats in the clip, they were the problem. Opening the door and removing the solar pump clip must have done it last season.

    What is that clip called? Is there a tool (similar to the tool you snap phone line into modules with) that seats the wire better than the backside of a box cutter (which I used).

    Much thanks for the "clicking sound" diagnostic!

    Bob
    Thanks As Always!
    Bob

    23,000 gal in-ground, Aquarite salt sys, Intellitouch i7 +3, Hayward cartridge filter (4) C-5025, Polaris 280 Pool Cleaner, 3/4 HP booster pump, Hydrazzo plaster.

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,333

    Re: Fill line suddenly not working

    Yes there is a tool but pressing it in with a small flat screwdriver and slightly squeezing it with needle nosed pliers works in a pinch.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •