Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Too much salt.

1. Back To Top    #1

Too much salt.

Hey guys,

So I just got my pool built and there has been water in it about 1 week now. My salt level has increased from 3200 to now 3500 ppm.

I thought your salt level falls over time not increases? But I guess it can increase due to water evaporation?

So do I just need to add fresh water? Or do I need to drain some water and then add more fresh water?

Sorry, I'm new to all this.

Thanks

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Too much salt.

Having salt at 3500 shouldn't be a problem. You can just leave it there for now.

There are a couple of possible reasons the level may have changed. The difference may simply be testing error. None of the tests are exactly repeatable. Also, many of the chemicals you add contain some salt. If you added something other than salt, that might have brought the salt level up a bit.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Thanks,

My Goldline is telling me the salt is too high. I also did a manual test and the salt was high. I did add some chemicals mid week but I can't remember what is was right now. ( too early still ) Happy Monday.

4. Back To Top    #4

Ah, The Goldline units have a lower high limit than most. Yes, you will need to replace some water. You shouldn't have to replace very much water.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

5. Back To Top    #5