Become a TFP Supporter Welcome to our new server and new forum software. Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Autopilot DIG-220 Low amps warning

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2

    Autopilot DIG-220 Low amps warning

    I have been having issues with my pool pilot. first I would get a check/clean cell but yet the cell is new, then I get the low amps - cell warning. I ran the TEST POOL PILOT and the cell = 11 V 2.8 amps. I've zeroed the amp hours, salt levels are above 3000 ppm. Anyone know what the problem could possibly be? The banana connectors are fine and no corrossion on any of the plugs.

    thanks,
    duane

  2. #2
    Administrator JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    35,084

    Re: Autopilot DIG-220 Low amps warning

    Welcome to TFP!

    It sounds like you have already checked the obvious things: cell clean, cable properly connected at both ends and not damaged, and salt level. Also make sure that which model cell you have connected is properly configured.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    TFP Admin. Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,430

    Re: Autopilot DIG-220 Low amps warning

    When was it installed? What voltage do you have the Pool Pilot wired to? Is it connected to the same relay that your pump is?
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    Commercial Products Sales Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2

    Re: Autopilot DIG-220 Low amps warning

    Quote Originally Posted by Poolsean
    When was it installed? What voltage do you have the Pool Pilot wired to? Is it connected to the same relay that your pump is?
    Poolsean
    It was installed about 3 years ago, it is connected to the 220 V the same as the pump. It was working fine until recently generating chlorine then started giving the warning the check/clean cell even after I just cleaned the cell, then it would start giving the low amps warning. In looking at some other posts it is leading me to believe that a capacitor is fried or something else with the circuit board.

  5. #5
    Administrator JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    35,084

    Re: Autopilot DIG-220 Low amps warning

    One other thing to do is to visually examine the cell blades. When a cell gets old, the corners of some of the blades will wear away. Extensive wear means it is time to replace the cell.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    TFP Admin. Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,430

    Re: Autopilot DIG-220 Low amps warning

    Duane, contact customer service with your serial number and date of installation to see if you may have some proration warranty remaining. As it is around 3 years old, it's not likely a 110 voltage to a 220 volt wired box. it may be a circuit breaker issue or a power module issue. So, check your circuit breaker too, just to ensure you do not have a bad breaker.
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    Commercial Products Sales Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •