Pool opening for the season

Johnny B

LifeTime Supporter
Mar 19, 2009
Charlotte, NC
Just opened pool today. I can test everything in 1 hour after the pump runs except the CYA, right? Or you guys just wait 24 hours for everything (makes more sense)?

Pretty sure the water is reasonably clear (cover still on, will be off in a few hours- long story), probably a yellow tint from all the yellow pollen. Usual organic debris that needs filtering & netting etc.

Mostly posting this to start my own thread so frustratedpoolmom sees it; she & others walked me through a difficult 1st start up last year, so I’m still a rookie at year #2. I shouldn’t require as much attention this year.
Brand new sand filter. I will not miss that DE filter.

You can test the CYA after an hour also. The thing with the CYA test is just that if your water is cold, it may not give you an accurate result. You can take the water for your CYA sample indoors and let it warm to room temperature first and then check it and it should result fine for you.

So yes, get your pump running and filtering. Scoop out any debris that you can and after an hour or two, run your tests. We can go from there. :goodjob:

4/15/10
6:30pm
pH 8.2 or higher
TA 90
CYA 20 & I could still see the dot, used entire sample
Borates 30
Water temperature 61F
Water is clear, can see the bottom which is green/yellow as are the walls (far less so) but there has been an enormous amount of pollen lately- but the water is reasonably clear.
FC 0.5 to 1
CC: 0 huh?!
Problem: Testing for FC & CC; I couldn’t get the solution to turn pink until about 6 scoops of powder & waiting about 5 minutes & even that is questionable, far more clear than even “REALLY light pink”. I did notice color change when I went to rinse the cylindar with tap water. Yes it was at the 10ml mark.
Put a scoop of powder in tap water & it wasn’t much different, yes it was again at the 10ml mark. Neither got pink/red like I am used to. Is my powder bad?