Newbie Questions/Advice on Overall Depth/Deep End

Aug 28, 2009
I'm a big-boy AGP newbie, and I'm really struggling with the whole depth issue (as evidenced by my questions.)

We have a new-to-us 52" AGP, 15x30'. It seems when filled, the 52" is really more like 44-45" water depth. From the other pools we've had (most recently 18' intex metal frame), you end up having to kind of squat down to really enjoy the water and feel like you're "in it." I'm not that excited about that.

The pool we have now has the non-buttress straps (4), and I can do a "deep end", but it seems that will just reduce the "usable" space for the non deep end side of the pool.

The pool will be "on ground" but below grade (sunken in the ground, but not backfilled, deck over it,) so the exterior look of it isn't really an issue, AND I can pretty well dig the hole any way I need to.

Questions:

1) Can you create buttresses for a non-buttress pool to eliminate the straps?
2) Is there a "standard" depth design for in ground pools that can be applied to AGP's? This is my biggest struggle is how to design the depth of the pool so that you can walk around, swim, etc. and maximize the overall use of it.
- I'm pretty well assuming I'll need to do a custom in ground liner for the agp, so it seems I could actually do an in ground pool type bottom design with a slope, etc. if it's possible, which I don't know if it is.
- It seems a standard deep end in an AGP would largely be wasted space, other than just for diving down (not diving in).

Please help. I really just don't know how to design the bottom. Should this be posted in construction instead?

You have to be really careful sloping the bottom. You tend to slide down to the deeper water, which is dangerous for non-swimmers.