Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: What to change?

1. Back To Top    #1

What to change?

Long time lurker, first time poster. I'm new to the BBB method so I could use some advice on what to adjust. I've got a 13,500 gallon pebble pool with a SWG. As of this evening my numbers are:

FC: 3.5
    CC: 0
    pH: 7.5
    TA: 80
    CH: 270
    CYA: 50
    Temp: 70
    Salt: 3450
    Borates: 50

This gives me a CSI of -0.5 per the pool calculater.

My plan was to bring pH up to 7.6, CH up to 300, and CYA up to 70. This will still result in a CSI of -0.42. Beyond this, what should I adjust to bring CSI closer to 0? I've played around with the numbers in the calculator and it appears the only way to get CSI below -0.30 is to take at least one of the other parameters out of the recommended range.

Thanks!

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: What to change?

Is your pH stable, or does it tend to go up a lot? If it's stable, you could try raising TA a little.
    Other than that, keeping the pH a little higher seems like the best approach.
    (Boy it feels weird to recommend a higher pH...)
    --paulr
    BBB "Intermediate Swimmer"
    IG plaster pool 18.5K gal, Hayward Pro-Grid DE filter, 3/4 HP Hydramax II; Polaris 380, 3/4 HP booster
    AG spa 325 gal, probably Sundance of some kind
    Water testing instructions on one page

3. Back To Top    #3

Have you tried plugging in different temperatures? Things will change when it heats up in the summer.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

4. Back To Top    #4