Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: My numbers after Borates

1. Back To Top    #1

My numbers after Borates

After getting my pool into pretty good balance and adding borates here's where I am:

• FC 5.5
      CC 0
      pH 7.6
      TA 90
      CH 300
      CYA 40
      Salt 600
      Borate 50
      Temp 60
      CSI -0.17

My TA seems to have gone up a bit with application of Boric Acid, which contradicts what Chem Geek said here.

That is at the high end of recommended. Should I worry about getting it down to 70 or 80?

Also, should I bring my CH up to 350? Being a noob I have been shooting for the middle of the recommended range.

The water looks great. Now I wish it would just warm up a bit so we can get in there!

Thanks!
    TFP Method Advanced Intermediate
    • 17,500 gallons - In Ground - Plaster - Hayward Swimclear 3020 Cartridge Filter - Sta-Rite Max-E-Glas Main Pump upgraded with A.O. Smith B2980 E-Plus New Centurion Two-Speed Motor - Polaris 280 Cleaner with Polaris PB4-60 Booster Pump - TightWatt2 Timer - Taylor K-2006 Test Kit - Pool Pilot Digital Nano SWCG

Helpful Links: Pool School, BBB for Beginners, How to Shock (hint...it's a process not a product), Chlorine/CYA Chart, Jason's Pool Calculator

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: My numbers after Borates

Those numbers are great! You really don't need to do anything right now. Your TA will probably drift down very slowly, which is good, but no need to rush the process.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Looks like a great job on your part. Enjoy!
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.