Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Do I need to open my pool?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Lafayette Area, Indiana
    Posts
    25

    Do I need to open my pool?

    The pool turned green this weekend with visible algae growth on the bottom and sides. The answer seems to be that I need to open the pool and get chlorine in it, but is it too early? I am not sure we are past freezing weather and I am worried about damaging the pump. I have not tested the water and I am not sure if it would do any good to do so. Thoughts?
    AG 24' Doughboy 13,500 gallons
    225 lb Sand Filter, Intex SWG
    Royal Spa Emperor II 545 gallons

  2. Back To Top    #2
    TizMe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Covington, Georgia
    Posts
    920

    Re: Do I need to open my pool?

    Depending on how cold it is going to be getting over the next month or so IMO I would hold off opening your pool if you suspect you might still have freezing temps. I'm assuming you remove your filter from the pool for the winter season ?

    Your algae problem will be easy to clear up when the warm weather gets here so I wouldnt fret over it ...
    Les
    Don't have a pool right now. Just sharing what I have learned over the years!
    Helpful Links:
    Pool School,Pool Calculator,Cl/CYA Shock Chart,TF Test Kit
    Doing BBB and loving it!

  3. Back To Top    #3
    AnnaK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Eastern Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,134

    Re: Do I need to open my pool?

    If your pool isn't still frozen (like mine) you can always start dumping in bleach or liquid chlorine and mix it in either manually or by using a submersible pump to circulate it. It's probably not too early in the season to hook up your plumbing and run the pump and filter if you keep an eye on the temperatures and keep it on when it gets near freezing.

    I'm kind of surprised to see that there's enough algae growth to turn the water green this early in the year at your location. Add chlorine and brush what you can, and run the filter.
    AnnaK

    12,500 gal AGP, Hayward sand filter, Pentair 2-speed pump, timer.
    Please visit our Pool Issues pages for information about step weights, managing the solar cover, and PoolSkim.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,965

    Re: Do I need to open my pool?

    I agree with Anna, get some bleach in there and maybe rent a submersible pump if you don't have one to help circulate it. I opened April 8 last year, and I'm pretty far North of you, that's only in a couple of weeks. I would think you could open it and if they forcast especially frigid weather running the pump during that time should help prevent stuff from freezing.
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    North Central Texas
    Posts
    1,358

    Re: Do I need to open my pool?

    Quote Originally Posted by frustratedpoolmom
    I agree with Anna, get some bleach in there and maybe rent a submersible pump if you don't have one to help circulate it. I opened April 8 last year, and I'm pretty far North of you, that's only in a couple of weeks. I would think you could open it and if they forcast especially frigid weather running the pump during that time should help prevent stuff from freezing.
    Renting, of course is one option, but you can find good submersible pumps for under and just a little above $100 US. I have no idea what renting fees are. My submersible pumps have really saved me or come in really handy for other uses too. I use them mostly for the pool though.

    gg=alice
    1981, 25K, IG, Blue Plaster 1996, somewhat oval, widens a bit at shallow end, 1.5" pipes, 2" at Pad, 1 separate main drain, 1 skimmer, 4 returns + dedicated cleaner return, 10 ft deep end with very fast decline from shallow, Pentair Quad 80 DE, Pentair Intelliflo VF, 3/4 HP Booster Pump (equipment pad about 8 ft below top of pool), Challanger 3/4 Trash/Emergency Pump 120v, Polaris 280 (pressure), iRobot Verro cleaner (robotic), Aquabot Turbo (robotic), Jacuzzi Tracker 4X (vacuum) Pool Blaster (Buster), Two (2) PoolSkims, Solar Breeze (solar powered top skimmer) (beta to ver. 2, release date 2010), ColorSplash LED replacement bulb. Aries 550 gal separate spa, 2002 (our 3rd and BEST spa) , BBB-Bromine

  6. Back To Top    #6
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,965

    Re: Do I need to open my pool?

    Alice, I do agree with you, I actually bought one for $89 last year and wondered why I didn't do it sooner! It came in handy when I needed to drain the water off my winter cover, made the task much simpler than our old manual way.
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •