Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help me identify my filter

1. Back To Top    #1

Help me identify my filter

My pool has a Pentair 4000 series DE filter. Which 4000 series is a mystery. The decal is blistered and flaked, I can find no model number anywhere. I scoured the Pentair website, downloaded all the pdf files that apply, and scrutinized them. Identifying it would be a cakewalk if I had the filter apart - just measure the height of the screens. Or the center rod. But it's not apart. Seems to be working fine, so I'm not going to tear it apart just for that. I'm a mechanic by trade - I've learned and relearned not to disturb seals for no good reason! I just want to know how much DE to add when I backflush, and for that, I need the size.

So I emailed Pentair. Here's the reply:
    MEASURE THE FILTER FROM TOP TO BOTTOM AND YOU CAN GO TO OUR WEBSITE TO GET THE PROPER SIZE OF THE FILTER AND IT WILL TELL YOU HOW MUCH DE YOU NEED.
    No, it won't. I tried that already.

The filter is 49" from the pad to the top of the tank, not including the pressure gauge/air bleed.
    The lid is 16" from the top of the clamp to the top of the tank, not including the gauge.

Does anyone out there have a Pentair 4000 with similar dimensions who can tell me the model number?
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Help me identify my filter