Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Major Disaster of the weekend

1. Back To Top    #1

Major Disaster of the weekend

First major disaster... over the weekend the temps have dropped way below freezing and stayed there. Now, although I'm new to pool ownership; i understand common physicial science...water freezes = bad news for pipes.

The pool is set to circulate bypassing the heater now because we are not using it... apparently sometime Sunday morning the joint valve where water returns from the heater froze and pulled the whole assembly with it. PB is working on it today hopefully he can fix it without too much damage $$$ but the verdict is still out. Plus I will not be able to refill and test it for a week or more so that the system could be tested... so its goodnight pool for the remainder of the winter. PB is closing it for me and hopefully that will prevent any further damage.

The whole think would have likely been prevented if I had circulated the water through the heater all along... oh well..chock it up to things I wish I would have known. Its off the Lowes now buy insulating tape and foam for the fountain and above ground pipes .
    Grant and Jerri
    Liberty, NC
    New 18x36 vinyl liner pool with lighting and fountain

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Major Disaster of the weekend

Sorry this happened!

I hope you realize that it would be possible to just winterize the heater in future years so you never have this problem again
    Luv& Luk
    -Ted

Having done construction and service for 4 pool companies in 4 states starting in 1988, what I know about pools could fill a couple of books - what I don't know could fill a couple of libraries :-D

POOL SCHOOL, TF Testkits, Jason's Pool Calculator, CYA vs. cl chart, (Just a few DARNED handy links!)

3. Back To Top    #3

I know...good point... hind sights 20/20 right?
    Grant and Jerri
    Liberty, NC
    New 18x36 vinyl liner pool with lighting and fountain