Pentair Heater Cutout problem

jeffbg

Jul 29, 2008
I have a mastertemp 400 pentair heater. It has been installed about 1 1/2 years. The last time we fired it up, it would start, run, heat for a bit, then cut out the flame, run for a bit, relight, run for a bit, shut down, etc.

From all I've read, it seems I may have a thermal regulator issue.

Furthermore, in reading the manual closely, it seems I should have a check valve between the heater and the chlorine generator, which I don't and which probably contributed to the issue. Do folks recommend a check valve at this location?

Thanks!

- Jeff

The salt system should be plumbed in after the spa bypass. That way the cell reversal (polarity) does not clear off the calcium in to your spa, where there is no way for it to be picked up (if it goes back through the pool returns the pool cleaner should get most of it). If you have a raised spa (or a lower equipment pad) then there will be a check valve which should stop water from checking back, and I don't know why you would need a check valve after the heater.

If you bought just the Pentair heater then you have a one year warranty. If you bought three or more pieces at the same time Pentair increases the warranty to 3 years. If it is a warranty issue, and you have coverage, I would call a warranty station to have them check it out.

I'm not sure that it is the thermo-coupler. You may have a flow switch issue that is reading back to the heater, or maybe a bad temp sensor which is giving incorrect readings. Why do you think it is the thermo-coupler?

jeffbg said:
n reading the manual closely, it seems I should have a check valve between the heater and the chlorine generator, which I don't and which probably contributed to the issue. Do folks recommend a check valve at this location?