Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Freeze Protection

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Katy, TX
    Posts
    94

    Freeze Protection

    Last night, OAT in the area must have reached close to 37ºF as the "freeze protection" feature in my system was turned on. PB had set it up to run the filter pump, water features pump and cleaner pump. My two questions are: does the cleaner pump need to be freeze protected (my understanding is that the filter pump moves water through the cleaner pipes as well) and 2) can I change the temp. at which freeze protection kicks in? I have the Easy Touch Pool & Spa Control System, but don't see an option to change the temp.
    Inground with 7x7 spa (spillover)
    20k gal plaster (sunstone)
    pentair 3/4 hp (filter), 1 hp (spa), 1/2 hp (features)
    cartridge filter
    SWCG IC-40
    Polaris Platinum (with booster)

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    North Central Texas
    Posts
    1,358

    Re: Freeze Protection

    I do mine manually. I've only turned on the Polaris booster pump when we have especially low temps that last for several days. The water coming from my pressure cleaner return, in pool, is almost as good as the other jets even when the booster is off.

    gg=alice
    1981, 25K, IG, Blue Plaster 1996, somewhat oval, widens a bit at shallow end, 1.5" pipes, 2" at Pad, 1 separate main drain, 1 skimmer, 4 returns + dedicated cleaner return, 10 ft deep end with very fast decline from shallow, Pentair Quad 80 DE, Pentair Intelliflo VF, 3/4 HP Booster Pump (equipment pad about 8 ft below top of pool), Challanger 3/4 Trash/Emergency Pump 120v, Polaris 280 (pressure), iRobot Verro cleaner (robotic), Aquabot Turbo (robotic), Jacuzzi Tracker 4X (vacuum) Pool Blaster (Buster), Two (2) PoolSkims, Solar Breeze (solar powered top skimmer) (beta to ver. 2, release date 2010), ColorSplash LED replacement bulb. Aries 550 gal separate spa, 2002 (our 3rd and BEST spa) , BBB-Bromine

  3. Back To Top    #3
    SCCS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Left coast
    Posts
    79

    Re: Freeze Protection

    On my system I can disable my pump controller (which would run the pump until the freeze is over on low speed) and just use the pump itself (which run's the pump for about 15 second's every 2 to 3 minute's) to do freeze protection.
    16,500 gal Roman end with PebbleFina finish
    4 x 160 intelliflo pump
    Easytouch controls with an IC40 chlorinator
    Sta-rite cartridge filter
    A & A infloor cleaning system
    Pentair 5g LED pool light

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Freeze Protection

    Quote Originally Posted by serge
    Last night, OAT in the area must have reached close to 37ºF as the "freeze protection" feature in my system was turned on. PB had set it up to run the filter pump, water features pump and cleaner pump. My two questions are: does the cleaner pump need to be freeze protected (my understanding is that the filter pump moves water through the cleaner pipes as well) and 2) can I change the temp. at which freeze protection kicks in? I have the Easy Touch Pool & Spa Control System, but don't see an option to change the temp.
    1) Without seeing how your system is plumbed it's hard for us to say whether your cleaner pump "needs" to run or not. If water is flowing completely through all parts of the pump then it probably doesn't need to run but if any part of the pump is static (no water flowing with just the filter pump running) it absolutely needs to run.

    2) If your PB set the system up to come on at 40ºF (common) then you should be albe to change it. I have no experience with the Easy Touch controller but someone should come along that has.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  5. Back To Top    #5
    spishex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Hillsborough, NC
    Posts
    1,375

    Re: Freeze Protection

    I believe the easy touch freeze protection is preset to 35F and cannot be adjusted, but you could try recalibrating your air sensor if you had to.

    Freeze protection is a yes/no option for each circuit (Pool Pump, Cleaner, etc.). You should be able to find it in Menu>Settings>[Circuit Name]

    You can find temp sensor calibration under Menu>Settings>Calibration.

    Here's the manual if you need it.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Katy, TX
    Posts
    94

    Re: Freeze Protection

    Got it thx...I just disengaged the pool cleaner...don't think I will change the temp. calibration at this time...
    Inground with 7x7 spa (spillover)
    20k gal plaster (sunstone)
    pentair 3/4 hp (filter), 1 hp (spa), 1/2 hp (features)
    cartridge filter
    SWCG IC-40
    Polaris Platinum (with booster)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •