Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: White powder-like substance on solar cover

1. Back To Top    #1

White powder-like substance on solar cover

Hi, Newbie here, older pool, new pool owner, trying to get everything under control. Finally got chemicals under control, but now when the solar cover goes on, in the morning I see a white powder-like substance where any water that spilled onto the solar cover dried up. What is this? Is it Calcium? is it harmful? How can I get rid of it?

Thanks for ANY help... great site.

Corey
    17,000 gal. IG pool with spillover spa, gunite/white plaster (approx15 y/o, replastered 10/2010), Filter Equipment installed 2007: Pentair CCP520 4-cartridge filter F/R 150, Pentair Mastertemp 250 Gas Heater, 3hp Pentair IntelliFlo Variable 8 Speed Inground Pump(installed 9/2011), and Proud lifetime TFP supporter!!

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: White powder-like substance on solar cover

Could be calcium scale or it could be salt. How are you chlorinating, and can you post a full set of test results?
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

3. Back To Top    #3

Thanks for the response. I don't think it's salt, as it's not a saltwater pool.

I suppose I could tell you what my test kit tells me, all I have is the test kit that compares colors in water samples, Ph & Chlorine levels appear to be "normal" according to the test kit & local pool supply store.

I used to chlorinate w/ tablets, but as of a few weeks ago, I use liquid. I also use liquid muriatic acid to maintain ph. I shock about once every 1-2 weeks.